LibGuides: Geography & Planning AND Spatially Integrated Social Sciences (SISS): GIS Data Resources

US DATA - Census Bureau

Geographic Datasets from the Census Bureau

Explore Census Data
U.S. Census Bureau
This Web site provides resources and data about the people of the United States including demographic, economic, and geographic studies.
Census Bureau - Interactive Maps
Census Gazetteer Files
Downloadable Gazetteer files

Datasets from the various datasets from agencies within the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Climate.gov
A collection of tools and interactive maps monitoring climate data across the Unites States and the World.
NOAA - NWS - National Hurricane Center
NOAA Research Laboratories
NOAA : Satellite and Information Service
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)
TopoZone
TopoZone is considered to be the best online resource for free topographic maps and high-resolution aerial photos covering all of the United States and Canada.

These datasets are Ohio-specific and are provided by federal and Ohio-based agencies and organizations

Geology Digital Photographs
A collection of photos depicting natural features and the human impact on environments around the world.
Geospatial Data Gatway (USDA/Ohio NRCS)
Northern Ohio Data & Information Service (NODIS)
Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Images
Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Image Collection is a collection of photos of forestry, dating back to the early 20th century. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity. Many pictures were taken in Ohio but other states and countries are also represented.
OGRIP - Geodata Distribution
Ohio View

Access Datasets and Data Archives maintained by international organizations such as United Nations, European Commission, and others.

Antarctic Digital Database
CISEIN World Data Center
Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)
Digital Chart of the World Data Server
ESRI - ArcGIS Online - Free Standard Maps
GeoBase: Canadian site for sources of free GIS data
NationMaster
This Web site provides a lot of international statistics and information for countries around the world. Much of the information is used to graphically compare countries and to generate maps and graphs.
Southern Africa Regional Science Initiative (SAFARI) Dataset
UNEP - Global Resource Information Database (GRID)
United Nations Environment Programme - Geo Data Portal
World Data System
World weather and climate conditions
This is an extensive database of climate data for places around the world. In addition, it also includes information about global warming, pollution, and weather forecasting.