LibGuides: Geography & Planning AND Spatially Integrated Social Sciences (SISS): UToledo & OhioLINK Books

Searching for Books

You can find books in the UToledo Library Catalog using either keywords for your topic, or using Subject Headings such as those listed below.

Searching by keyword allows you to find words mentioned in book titles, chapter titles, subjects, and author names. Keyword searches can be combined to find books on two or more topics using AND or OR. Searching by Subject Heading is more precise, but searches for broad topics in the book. See the UToledo Library Catalog Guide for more information about searching.

Some subject headings you may want to start at include the following. Some will have cross references to other related topics, and most will have sub-headings for more specific topics, formats, or geographic areas:

UT Library Catalog Search

OhioLINK Catalog Search

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Use these reference tools to locate key concepts, terms, and definitions for your area of research. These resources appear in reverse chronological order from most recent to oldest titles.

International Encyclopedia of Geography by Douglas Richardson (Editor-In-Chief); Noel Castree (Editor); Michael F. Goodchild (Editor); Audrey Kobayashi (Editor); Weidong Liu (Editor); Richard A. Marston (Editor)
Call Number: G63 .I56 2017
ISBN: 9780470659632
Publication Date: 2017-03-20
The Columbia gazetteer of the world by Saul B. Cohen
Call Number: CARLSON Reference (1st fl) G103.5 .C645 2008 v. 1 LIB USE ONLY
ISBN: 9780231145541
This gazetteer is an encyclopedia of geographical places and features. It includes thousands of entries, 40,000 for the United States alone, which vary from a brief notation about a small village to an essay on a country or region. The entries are arranged in one alphabet in three volumes, and place name pronunciations provide the user with the correct pronunciations of names and places.
Encyclopedia of human geography by Barney Warf
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) GF4 .E54 2006 AVAILABLE
ISBN: 0761988580
This encyclopedia presents a comprehensive overview of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize human geography at this time. A variety of themes about different schools of thought and subjects are included in this volume. Not presented, however, are biographical summaries of famous geographers. For additional information about each of the topics, a bibliography of "suggested reading" is located at the end of each entry.
Dictionary of Geography by Malcolm Skinner; David Redfern; Geoff Farmer
Call Number: G63 .D538 1999y
ISBN: 1579581544
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
A Dictionary of Geography by Susan Mayhew
Call Number: G63 .M39 1997
ISBN: 0192800345
Publication Date: 1997-06-19
The dictionary includes over 6300 definitions of terms including remote sensing, settlement, development and diffusion, etc.
Encyclopedia of world geography by R.W. McColl
Call Number: CARLSON Reference (1st fl) HM17 .J38 1991y HM17 .J38 1991y
ISBN: 0816057869
This is a three-volume set including 750 entries describing pioneers in geography and mapmaking.

Handbooks and Yearbooks

Maps on file
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) G1046.A1 M16 1981 pt. 1
ISBN: ISSN 0275-8083
Publication Date: 1981-
This is a comprehensive, biannually revised collection of up-to-date, loose-leaf maps in two binders designed for easy reproduction. Each map is detailed but uncluttered to produce clear, regular-sized photocopies. Separate maps are provided for each continent, every U.S. state and Canadian province, and virtually every country of the world. Many economic and political themes are depicted in maps, graphs, and statistical tables.This library has 1982-2008
The world factbook
Call Number: CARLSON Documents Office (3rd fl) PREX 3.15: 2008 LIB USE ONLY
ISBN: 0277-1527
This is an annual reference resource produced by the Central Intelligence Agency that provides information about the countries of the world. That information includes summaries of the demographics, geography, communications, government, economy, and military of U.S.-recognized countries. The 2008 edition was the last one to appear in print. Print copies are located in the Government Documents Department.

OhioLINK

Don't forget that in addition to all of the books available in the University of Toledo Libraries locations, you also have access to books from any of the more than 85 OhioLINK partner libraries. Whenever you are in the University of Toledo Library Catalog, you can click on the OhioLINK button to perform the same search in libraries across the state. Or you can start your search in the OhioLINK Catalog itself. See here for more information about requesting and borrowing items from OhioLINK libraries.

Directories

Guide to U.S. map resources by Christopher J.J. Thiry
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) GA193.U5 C62 2006 AVAILABLE
ISBN: 0810852683
This third edition offers users a detailed snapshot of and guide to hundreds of map collections and cartographic resources in libraries and repositories throughout the nation. Knowing which collection may contain a needed cartographic item can be a valuable first step in locating that item.
World Directory of Map Collections by Lorraine Dubreuil (Editor); Section of Geography and Map Libraries Staff (Compiled by)
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) GA192 .W67 1993y AVAILABLE
ISBN: 3598217919
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
This directory is a country-by-country guide to collections of 1,000 or more maps and collections otherwise deemed important. The nature of the collection is recorded in some detail, focusing on its gepgraphical emphasis, specialization, and chronological span. Special collections are described and how easily items can be identified and retrieved.

Browsing for Books on Geography

The UToledo Libraries use the Library of Congress Call Number system for organizing our books. You can browse the shelves in our libraries (as well as others throughout the US using this system) in the following call numbers (source: Wikipedia: Library of Congress Classification:Class G -- Geography. Anthropology. Recreation)

G	Geography (General); Atlases; Maps
GA	Mathematical geography; Cartography
GB	Physical geography
GC	Oceanography
GE	Environmental Sciences
1-350.......Environmental Sciences 70-90......Environmental Education 170-190....Environmental Policy 195-199....Environmentalism. Green Movement 300-350....Environmental Management
GF	Human ecology; Anthropogeography
1-900.......Human ecology. Anthropogeography 51.........Environmental influences on humans 75.........Human influences on the environment 101-127....Settlements 125.......Cities. Urban geography 127.......Rural settlements. Rural geography 500-900....By region or country
GN	Anthropology
GR	Folklore
GT	Manners and customs (General)
GV	Recreation; Leisure