LibGuides: Geography & Planning AND Spatially Integrated Social Sciences (SISS): GEPL 4310-971/5310; LST 4980-971

Books

Books on the Romanies are groups in the DX call number range (DX 101-301):

Alternate (and outdated) subject descriptors like Gypsy, Gypsies, Travelers (or Travellers), Tinkers, Zigeuner, Gitano, and others are likely to redirect your searches to Romanies and Romani.

Other Resources for Books:

Directory of Open Access Books -- Romanies [link] - a collection of open-access peer reviewed books.

OhioLINK Catalog [link] -- Ohio-wide searching: Romanies (you can request a book to be delivered to the UToledo Library of your choice)

WorldCat Catalog - Romanies [link] -- National searches for books that you can request via an Interlibrary loan.

Get Started with the ILLIAD and the Interlibrary Loan Process [link]

We are the Romani people by Hancock, Ian F
Call Number: DX115 .H36 2002
ISBN: 1902806190
Publication Date: 2002
The church of cheese : Gypsy ritual in the American heyday by Miller, Carol
Call Number: DX201 .M548 2010
ISBN: 9781934848616
Publication Date: 2010
Lola's luck : my life among the California Gypsies by Miller, Carol
Call Number: DX201 .M55 2009
ISBN: 9781934848005
Publication Date: 2009
The Gypsies by Fraser, Angus M
Call Number: DX115 .F72 1992
ISBN: 0631159673
Publication Date: 1992

Theses and Dissertations

OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) Center -- Romanies [link] -- Ohio-wide collections of ETDs available for download

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (UToledo dissertations and theses only) This link opens in a new window
Subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Thesesdatabase. Contains records for University of Toledo and former Medical College of Ohio/Medical University of Ohio dissertations and theses. Full text available for documents added since 1997 and selected older ones.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (entire database) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses written by students from over 1,000 universities in North America and Europe.

Web Resources

Gypsy Lore Society
Website of the Gypsy Lore Society
Irish Travellers (Wikipedia)
Wikipedia article
Romani Americans (Roma)
Article by Ian F. Hancock on the Texas State Historical Association
Romani people (Wikipedia)
Wikipedia article
Who are the Gypsies?
Article in The Straight Dope (June 26, 2007)
Gypsies: a minority at the crossroads
Article in the UNESCO Courier, 1974 Issue

Research Databases

Use the recommended electronic resources for assignments and research projects. Although you can use the same main subject keywords (Romanies, Romani, Romany), individual articles will also list additional author-provided keywords for further research. The selection of databases below present an interdisciplinary base for searching while some are specific to medical (PubMed) or behavioral (APA PychInfo) sciences.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary index to scholarly publications in nearly all academic areas of study.
America : History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
(See Historical Abstractsfor history of the world other than North America.)
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to worldwide scholarly literature in psychology and related fields
APA PsycInfo: More info available in the PsycINFO LibGuide
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to journals & periodicals published worldwide on criminal justice and criminology.

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone. This is a resource of global scale and multilingual and interdisciplinary in scope.

EBook Central This link opens in a new window
Collection of 130,000+ books from scholarly publishers covering a wide variety of academic disciplines. Browsable by subject areas or searchable across the entire collection. Books can be read online or downloaded for offline use for up to 2 weeks. To download or take advantage of features such as annotating, printing, or bookmarking, users will need to create a personal ebrary account. (An Adobe Digital Editions account is also required for downloading a book.) Note: UToledo Libraries has a subscription for an *unlimited* number of users and borrowers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to a variety of literature and resources in education.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ndex to international scholarly literature on the history of the world - excluding the United States and Canada - from about 1450 to the present.
(See America: History and Lifefor history of the United States and Canada.)
History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary and secondary sources relating to the "Long Nineteenth Century" history of feminism (1776-1928). Includes thousands of chapters of primary source material and secondary book content as well as journal articles, thematic essays, an image gallery, and short introductions to key subject categories.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of biomedical fields. This version has links to UToledo specific tools and full text.
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks and was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching interdisciplinary collection of scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.

Race Relations Abstract
Index to journals, books and other publications that focuses on relationships between and among races. Topics covered include ethnic studies, immigration, community relations, radicalism, economics, history, racism, and cultural identity.

Maps and Geospatial Data on Romanies

Many historical maps and emerging geospatial data sets enable researchers to gather up-do-date and historical geographical data on Romanies

London Gypsies and Travellers (LGT) istory and Heritage Maps
London Gypsies and Travellers has undertaken a London-wide project to chart the history of Gypsies and Travellers in the capital. With National Lottery funding, it is mapping recorded population data, sites and tenures across every borough, and creating histories through the knowledge and voices of Travelling Showpeople, Irish Travellers and Romany Gypsies.
Map of Romani Migration in the Middle Ages
Map showing the movement of the Romani people between approximately 500 and 1500 CE. The dates used on this map are commonly accepted approximations based on historical accounts and linguistic evidence.
Maps of the Romani people (Wikimedia)
Collection of downloadable maps.
Office for National Statistics (UK), Census 2021
Interactive map showing UK Census Data from 2011-2021
Romani Language - World Mapper
U.S. Census Bureau
U. S. Census Data covers dozen of topics across 130+ surveys and programs. Get in the weeds with more than 2.5 million tables of raw data, maps, profiles, and more at data.census.gov — the Census Bureau’s premiere data dissemination platform.
World Heritage Online Map Platform (coming so0on)
unded by the Flanders UNESCO Trustfund (FUT), this project aims to develop an online geographic information system for World Heritage in Europe and North America.

Romani Music

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service providing access to documentaries, independent, classic, and instructional films covering a broad range of disciplines.

National Jukebox, Library of Congress
Digitized collection of over 10,000 historical music and spoken word recordings from the collections of the Library of Congress and other contributing libraries and archives. Musical genres included are classical, opera, popular, band, blues, ethnic, theater, religious, ragtime, country, whistling, and yodeling. Spoken recordings include monologues, dialogues, recitations, speeches, ethnic characterizations, and humor and vaudeville routines.
OhioLINK Music Center
Collection of streaming musical recordings in six genres: classical, jazz, Chinese, opera, and world music, and spoken word recordings. Includes over 21,000 works and 78,000 tracks. Subset of the Naxos Music Library purchased by OhioLINK library consortium.

Romanies in images (archives)

These resources include image databases and digital repositories containing historical images of the Romani communities.

Digital Library of the Middle East
The Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions. Developed by an engineering team from CLIR and Stanford Libraries, the platform federates and makes accessible data about collections from around the world. Explore our collections or read more about the DLME.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge.
Europeana
The Europeana website provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with access to Europe's digital cultural heritage. Why? To inspire and inform fresh perspectives and open conversations about our history and culture. To share and enjoy our rich cultural heritage. To use it to create new things.
Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
Unesco Digital Library, UNESDOC
The UNESCO Digital Library is a key tool for enabling UNESCO’s mission of building peace in the minds of people, in particular by “advancing the mutual knowledge and understanding, and encouraging cooperation among the nations in all branches of intellectual activity, including […] the exchange of publications, objects of artistic and scientific interest and other materials of information” (UNESCO Constitution).

Geography & Planning AND Spatially Integrated Social Sciences (SISS): GEPL 4310-971/5310; LST 4980-971

Geography of Gypsies (Romanies) and Travelers:GEPL 4310-971; LST 4980-971