Home - PUBH 6690/HEAL 8690/CRIM 6400 - Research Design - LibGuides at University of Toledo Libraries

Definitions, Tools and Information

SAGE Research Methods
Resources to answer research methods and statistics questions [NOTE: Not all content is accessible]
SAGE Research Methods Map
Explore research methods, definitions of key terminology, and other content relevant to research methods.
SAGE Rresearch Methods Project Planner
Tool to guide you through the research project.
SAGE Research Methods Foundations
Introductory overviews to all the major methods.
SAGE Research Methods Stats Test
Simple tool for selecting statistical tests.
Sample size calculator
Survey Monkey tool
Sample Size Calculator
Courtesy of Creative Research Systems (survey software).
Statistical Packages for Public Health (UToledo LibGuide)
Locating Health Statistics
Health and general statistics guides, tools and resources
Research Consultation Center / Graduate Research Resources
Tools to aid in understanding, evaluating, conducting, writing, publishing, funding and fostering creative research.

Posters for Research

Essential Research Databases

APA PsycInfo
Index to worldwide scholarly literature in psychology and related fields

APA PsycInfo: More info available in the PsycINFO LibGuide

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
CINAHL
Index to literature in nursing, allied health, and related fields including alternative and complementary medicine, health sciences librarianship, and consumer health.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Index to journals & periodicals published worldwide on criminal justice and criminology.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
Embase
Suited for pharmacovigilance, systematic reviews and biomedical research. Coverage from 1947 -- contains conference abstracts dating from 2009.

"Restrictions on Use of Subscribed Products.
Except as expressly stated in this Agreement or otherwise permitted in writing by Elsevier, the Subscriber and its Authorized Users may not:
- abridge, modify, translate or create any derivative work and/or service (including resulting from the use of artificial intelligence tools), based on the Subscribed Products, except to the extent necessary to make them perceptible on a computer screen to Authorized Users;
- remove, obscure or modify in any way any copyright notices, other notices or disclaimers as they appear in the Subscribed Products;
- use any robots, spiders, crawlers or other automated downloading programs, tools, or devices to search, scrape, extract, deep link, index and/or disrupt the working of the Subscribed Products;
- use the Subscribed Products in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool);
- post abstracts from the Subscribed Products on social networking sites; or
- substantially or systematically reproduce, retain, store locally, redistribute or disseminate the Subscribed Products."
ERIC (EBSCOhost version)
Comprehensive index to a variety of literature and resources in education.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
Legal Collection
Index to scholarly literature on law and legal topics.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
MEDLINE with Full Text
EBSCO's version of the National Library of Medicine's index to journal literature. Covers a broad range of biomedical, life sciences, and healthcare disciplines.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Index to journal literature in psychology, behavioral sciences and related fields.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
PubMed
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of biomedical fields. This version has links to UToledo specific tools and full text.

Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
SAGE Data
Collection of over 200,000 data measures for all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Topics covered include agriculture, business and industry, crime, economics, education, employment, government finance, health, housing, population, religion, social welfare, and transportation. Data sets created from both government and non-government sources. Users can download all data for subsequent manipulation.

Mid-1990s to present (varies with data series)
SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature in sociology and related fields.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
Sociological Collection
Index to scholarly journals in sociology.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
Web of Science Core Collection
Portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Additional Databases

JSTOR
Platform for cross-searching full text of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences.

Also includes books and primary source materials. Subjects covered include anthropology, biology, botany, economics, ecology, education, history, mathematics, medicine, performing arts, political science, and sociology.
Project MUSE
Platform for cross-searching interdisciplinary collection of scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.

Select Course-Related Reading

Exploring Research Data Management
Call Number: Connect to full text in Cambridge University Press

Publication Date: 2018
Research Data Management
Call Number: Connect to full text in ProQuest Ebook Central

Publication Date: 2013
Successful Grant Writing: strategies for health and human service professionals
Call Number: Connect to full text in ProQuest Ebook Central

Publication Date: 2014
Multilevel Modelling for Public Health and Health Services Research
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection

Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Research Methods in Health Social Sciences
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection

Publication Date: 2019
Qualitative Research in Health Care
Call Number: Connect to full text in Wiley Online Library

Publication Date: 2019
Qualitative Research in the Health Sciences
Call Number: Connect to full text in ProQuest Ebook Central

Publication Date: 2013
Systematic searching : practical ideas for improving results
Call Number: Connect to full text in Cambridge University Press
Qualitative Methods in Public Health
Call Number: Connect to full text in ProQuest Ebook Central

Publication Date: 2016
Understanding and Conducting Research in the Health Sciences
Call Number: Connect to full text in Wiley Online Library

Publication Date: 2013