Government Information: Statistics: Education Statistics

From the National Center for Education Statistics this resource lists historical sources and provides a short history of education statistics with tables.

Data includes revenue by source, local property tax, private tuition, transportation payments, lunch charges, etc.

Provides information about demographics, social characteristics, and economics of children and school districts. Includes ACS data and focuses on school district level.

NCES is the primary federal agency that collects and analyzes educational data within U.S. Department of Education and Institute of Education Sciences.

Compare your library to other libraries.

The Digest is a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. It covers various subjects related to education, number of schools, colleges teachers, enrollments, graduates, federal funds for education, libraries, international education, and much more. It draws data from many sources, both private and government (especially NCES).

Higher Education statistics. Provides student and institutional data from every college, university and technical and vocational institution that is involved with federal student financial aid.

Congressionally mandated report on the state of education in the U.S. Provides statistics related to national trends in education from early childhood to postsecondary education. Published annually since 1975.

Provides access to elementary and secondary education statistics for all states. Options to select four states to compare data.

Fiscal and non-fiscal data about public schools, school districts and state education agencies. Also provides descriptiive information and demographics about students and staff.

Contact the department of education, the higher education agency, special education agency and adult education agency in your state. Click here for Ohio Contacts