Government Information: Statistics: Health Statistics

"CDC’S National HIV Surveillance System is the primary source for monitoring HIV trends in the United States. CDC funds and assists state and local health departments to collect the information. Health departments report de-identified data to CDC so that information from around the country can be analyzed to determine who is being affected and why.”

Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER) is an easy-to-use internet system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.

• The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program provides information on cancer statistics in an effort to reduce the cancer burden among the U.S. population. SEER is supported by the Surveillance Research Program (SRP) in NCI's Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences (DCCPS).

The nation's principal health statistics agency, it is an important source of information about America's health. These statistics provide the information necessary to influence and make changes to public health and health policy.

SAMHDA provides public use data to support a better understanding of substance abuse and mental health.

The annual rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work, and play. They provide a starting point for change in communities.

Provides national statistics and trends and selected state statistics about hospital stays. HCUPnet generates statistics using data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample, the Kid's Inpatient Database, and the State Inpatient Databases for states that participate. HCUPnet is part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

National Hospital Care Survey (NHCS )describes national patterns of health care delivery in hospital-based settings and in freestanding ambulatory surgery centers (ASCs).

Drug overdose deaths and opioid-involved deaths are on the rise in the United States. More than three out of five drug overdose deaths involve an opioid.

The CDC gathers statistics on opioid prescribing data, overdose, death data and more.

Provides topical reports, interactive maps and graphs, and cancer statistics by cancer type, geographic area, and demographic subgroups. Includes information about how cancer statistics are used and how population-based cancer statistics are calculated.

Created by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), this site provides information on alcohol abuse and binge drinking. It provides statistics on consequences of drinking and offers solutions.

Provides statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.