Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Guide to the MLA and APA Citation Styles; Latest Update 2016

How to cite Encyclopedias

 MLA Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

 Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Initial. "Title of Entry or Article." Title of Reference Source. edition. year. Print.

Examples:
"Home." Oxford English Dictionary. 2nd ed. 1989. Print.

Ring, Arnold A. "Real Estate." Encyclopedia Americana. 1997. Print.

"The Art of Architecture." Encyclopædia Britannica: Macropædia. 15th ed. 2002. Print.

How to cite ONLINE Encyclopedias

MLA Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

  • Examples are not double-spaced, but your Works Cited list should be double-spaced
  • Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented

 

Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Initial. "Title of Entry or Article." Name of Reference Source. edition. Name of database. Web. Date of access.

Example:
“Concrete." Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia. EBSCO, 2009. Web. 17 Jan. 2004.

Bigus, Jochen. "Business Bankruptcy." Encyclopedia of Law & Society:American and Global Perspectives. Sage, 2007. Web. 16 Apr. 2009.

Elaine Reeves - Online Learning Librarian

Profile Photo
Elaine Reeves
Contact:
Carlson Library
Main Campus
CL1024C
419.530.2868
Subjects: English, Orientation