Scholarly Communication: The Arts

"launched by a cross-departmental collection of individuals at the Indianapolis Museum of Art (IMA)" Art Babble is "intended to showcase video art content in high quality format from a variety of sources and perspectives."

From ARLIS/NA, "this pioneering web-based resource represents a giant step forward in providing access to one of the most important "hidden" collections in art libraries, the Artist Files. The Online Directory is an interactive resource of institutional holdings of artist files that allows for efficient browsing of collection statements and provides links to further artist files resources.
Link to the Directory and add your holdings information now! As more libraries and institutions add their information to the Directory, the more valuable a resource it will become. The Directory now includes records from a small core group of institutions with artist files holdings but from this point forward, all institutions, regardless of size or geographical location, are encouraged to contribute records."

of particular interest are early 20th century China expedition photographs; a collection of the history of photomechanical reproduction; and a lost arts collection (mostly pieces lost in Europe during WWII)

Collections include a variety of subjects and periods, from antiquity to contemporary. Objects include paintings, drawings, photographs and artist's personal letters, and more. Selected materials are free to view and download.

Find here latest research and viewable multimedia pieces.

"The mission of the ArtBase is to provide free, open, and permanent access to a living and historic collection of seminal new media art objects."

Over 116,000 digital art images are available for viewing from all schools and periods of art and from a variety of contributing museums around the world.

A collection of personal photographs and other images donated by professors and hosted by Washington State University. Geographical areas covered include: Europe, Turkey, India and Asia.