LibGuides: Exercise Science: Find Articles

Essential Research Databases

Below is a select list of research databases from which to begin searching for articles. To view more databases in other disciplines visit Research Databases by Subject.

Access Physiotherapy
Online physical therapy resource. Contains textbooks, procedural videos, case studies, exam review questions, and multimedia modules, including Anatomy & Physiology Revealed and F.A. Davis PT Collection.

Users can navigate between the two resources by clicking the “See Also” section near upper right on home page.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination
Collection of 140+ videos that demonstrate clinical physical examination techniques. Includes demonstrations of head-to-toe exams for both adults and children as well as more advanced systems-based examination techniques. Participants are actors and health care professionals. Companion resource to classic text Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.
ClinicalKey
Point-of-care, clinical information service for medical students, physicians, surgeons, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals.
CINAHL
Index to literature in nursing, allied health, and related fields including alternative and complementary medicine, health sciences librarianship, and consumer health.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
Embase
Suited for pharmacovigilance, systematic reviews and biomedical research. Coverage from 1947 -- contains conference abstracts dating from 2009.

"Restrictions on Use of Subscribed Products.
Except as expressly stated in this Agreement or otherwise permitted in writing by Elsevier, the Subscriber and its Authorized Users may not:
- abridge, modify, translate or create any derivative work and/or service (including resulting from the use of artificial intelligence tools), based on the Subscribed Products, except to the extent necessary to make them perceptible on a computer screen to Authorized Users;
- remove, obscure or modify in any way any copyright notices, other notices or disclaimers as they appear in the Subscribed Products;
- use any robots, spiders, crawlers or other automated downloading programs, tools, or devices to search, scrape, extract, deep link, index and/or disrupt the working of the Subscribed Products;
- use the Subscribed Products in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool);
- post abstracts from the Subscribed Products on social networking sites; or
- substantially or systematically reproduce, retain, store locally, redistribute or disseminate the Subscribed Products."
PubMed
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of biomedical fields. This version has links to UToledo specific tools and full text.

Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
Science Citation Index Expanded
Index to worldwide scholarly and technical literature in all scientific disciplines. A special feature is cited reference searching, which allows users to search an an article's citation data to find similar works or works citing a specific author.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Index to publications on sports, fitness, and related disciplines.

"Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyse, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein."
Video journal of sports medicine

Publication of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine

Search In Online Journals

Online Journals List
List of journals accessible at UToledo.