The following databases contain eBooks:
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Search the catalog of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library system:
Adaptive sports medicine: a clinical guide
The Art of the Musculoskeletal Physical Exam
This book is an invaluable resource for all those seeking to enhance their proficiency in physical examination. Emphasizing its importance for thorough assessments and accurate diagnoses, it equips practitioners with comprehensive theoretical and practical knowledge. With seven sections devoted to different orthopedic structures, the book meticulously examines their underlying anatomy, pathological conditions, and diagnostic methodologies. Each author presents joint-specific tests, and detailed anatomical insights, enabling accurate assessments and identification of underlying conditions. Written and edited by members of ISAKOS, this collaboration draws upon the expertise of leading international experts. Appealing to a broad readership, it is an invaluable tool for orthopedists, sports medicine physicians, physical therapists, athletic trainers and students.
Kinesiology
Gain the knowledge and skills you need to provide soft-tissue therapy! Kinesiology: The Skeletal System and Muscle Function, 4th Edition provides a complete guide to the art and science of musculoskeletal anatomy, movement, and dysfunction treatment. With more than 1,200 full-color illustrations, the book shows the body's bones and joints, and how muscles function as movers, antagonists, and stabilizers. Part I covers the fundamentals of structure and motion. Part II covers the skeletal system, including skeletal and fascial tissues. Part III contains a detailed study of the joints of the body. And finally, Part IV examines how muscles function. Written by noted lecturer and educator Joseph Muscolino, this text includes access to an Evolve website with 150 video clips demonstrating major joint actions of the body as well as muscle palpation. Complete atlas of bones, bony landmarks, and joints includes hundreds of full-color illustrations, providing comprehensive coverage of bones not found in other kinesiology books. Clear, straightforward explanations of kinesiology concepts cover muscle contraction(s), coordination of muscles with movement, core stabilization, posture, exercise, reflexes, and how the nervous system controls and directs the muscular system. Coverage of strengthening exercises and stretching emphasizes the purposes and benefits of stretching and how to perform various stretching techniques. Information on posture and the gait cycle includes illustrations of all of the muscles of the human body organized by function. Clinical applications challenge students to apply kinesiology concepts to clinical practice. Light-bulb and Spotlight boxes discuss applications of the content, including pathologic conditions and clinical scenarios. Learning objectives at the start of each chapter include a chapter outline, overview, key terms and pronunciations, and word origins. NEW! Expanded coverage of fascia includes new perspectives from all-new contributors, including the role of fascia in movement, stability, and posture.
Sex Hormones, Exercise and Women
Now in a revised and expanded second edition including seven brand new chapters, this book compiles and synthesizes the latest research and clinical evidence regarding the intricate relationship between sex hormones and the physical activity level and overall health of the female endocrine system across the lifespan. Expert authors from around the world discuss in detail the impact of sex hormones on energy metabolism, cardiorespiratory system, nervous system, and musculoskeletal health, as well as environmental and psychological factors affecting exercise and sexual health. Considerations of the hormonal and physiological changes to the menstrual cycle and in menopause due to exercise receive chapters of their own. New to this edition are discussions of pregnancy, menopause, aerobic endurance training, the transgender athlete, sports performance, and the future of sports and exercise science relating to the active female. Covering a hot topic in sports medicine and science, Sex Hormones, Exercise and Women, Second Edition will be of interest to researchers, clinicians, exercise scientists, and residents and fellows in these areas.
Exercise therapy for recovery from hemiplegia : theory and practice of repetitive facilitative exercise
This book introduces an innovative, efficient, and patient-friendly neural net constructive therapy for patients with mild to severe hemiplegia.
Ligamentous Injuries of the Foot and Ankle
Aimed at sports medicine and foot and ankle clinicians globally who see and treat ligamentous injuries to the foot and ankle, the focus of this comprehensive text is on cutting-edge techniques in both non-surgical and surgical treatment, rehabilitation, and safe and expeditious return to sport. Techniques and technology move very rapidly in this space, and this book serves as a ready resource on current surgical and rehabilitation techniques for these conditions. Opening with a review of the relevant anatomy and biomechanics of the foot and ankle, as well as current imaging techniques, the text then turns to the diagnosis, management and rehabilitation of specific ligamentous injuries and conditions. Multiple management techniques are presented for lateral ankle sprains and instability, syndesmotic injuries, deltoid and spring ligament injuries, Lisfranc injuries, and plantar plate and sesamoid injuries. Generous clinical photographs and illustrations highlight current techniques and diagnostic algorithms, and selected chapter-associated video segments are included, demonstrating surgical and rehabilitation techniques and equipment. Written and edited by experts in the field who routinely manage these injuries using the most effective techniques, Ligamentous Injuries of the Foot and Ankle is a terrific resource for orthopedic and sports medicine clinicians and rehabilitation providers at all levels.
Hand and Wrist Therapy: clinical examination and advanced rehabilitation tools
Translational Informatics: sports and exercise medicine
Climbing Medicine
Netter's Sports Medicine
Management of Track and Field Injures
Concussions in athletics : from brain to behavior
Cartilage injury of the knee : state-of-the-art treatment and controversies
Specific Sports-Related Injuries
Voice Disorders in Athletes, Coaches and Other Sports Professionals
Essential sports medicine : a clinical guide for students and residents
The management of biceps pathology : a clinical guide from the shoulder to the elbow
Essentials of Athletic Injury Management
Overtraining syndrome in athletes : a comprehensive review and novel perspectives
Endocrinology of physical activity and sport
The Future of Orthopaedic Sports Medicine
Brukner & Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine, Revised
Sports injuries of the shoulder
Foundations of Kinesiology
Biomechanical principles and applications in sports
Upper extremity injuries in young athletes
Hip and groin pain in the athlete
Joint Structure and Function
The sports medicine physician
Human Performance Optimization
The adolescent athlete : a practical approach
Proprioception in orthopaedics, sports medicine and rehabilitation
Shoulder and elbow injuries in athletes : prevention, treatment and return to sport