Home - HEAL 8510 - Pathophysiology in Public Health - LibGuides at University of Toledo Libraries

Relevant Web Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Provides information such as the latest dietary guidelines, healthy eating, and how good dietary habits promote health and reduce risk for major chronic diseases
World Health Organization
Information on a variety of health-related topics, including global infectious diseases

Reference Resources

Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine 8E
Call Number: Connect to full text in AccessPhysiotherapy OR AccessMedicine
Publication Date: 2018

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care, clinical information service for medical students, physicians, surgeons, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals.

Databases for Article Searching

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature in nursing, allied health, and related fields including alternative and complementary medicine, health sciences librarianship, and consumer health.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Suited for pharmacovigilance, systematic reviews and biomedical research. Coverage from 1947 -- contains conference abstracts dating from 2009.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of biomedical fields. This version has links to UToledo specific tools and full text.
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
Web of Science Platform This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to several databases including Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS, MEDLINE, and Derwent Innovations Index. Formerly called 'Web of Knowledge'
More information available in the Web of Science LibGuide

Evaluation of Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Programs
Call Number: Connect to full text in ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780190235079
Publication Date: 2015
Improving Decision Support for Infectious Disease Prevention and Control
Call Number: Connect to full text in JSTOR
Publication Date: 2016
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by Joann G. Elmore; Dorothea Wild; David L. Katz; Heidi D. Nelson
Call Number: Connect to full text in ClinicalKey
Publication Date: 2020
Useful course or in preparing for a medical board review. Topics as the study of risk and benefit in epidemiologic studies, statistical inference and hypothesis testing, principles and practice of secondary prevention, mental and behavioral health, and public health practice in communities.
Emerging and re-emerging viral infections : advances in microbiology, infectious diseases and public health. Volume 6
Call Number: Connect to full text in OhioLINK Electronic Book Center OR SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Publication Date: 2017
Hunter's tropical medicine and emerging infectious diseases
Call Number: Connect to full text in ClinicalKey
Publication Date: 2020