LibGuides: Master of Public Health Program Resources: Find Articles

Essential Research Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature in nursing, allied health, and related fields including alternative and complementary medicine, health sciences librarianship, and consumer health.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
A repository of standardized and structured statistical data and datasets.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Suited for pharmacovigilance, systematic reviews and biomedical research. Coverage from 1947 -- contains conference abstracts dating from 2009.
ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to a variety of literature and resources in education.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's version of the National Library of Medicine's index to journal literature. Covers a broad range of biomedical, life sciences, and healthcare disciplines.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to worldwide scholarly literature in psychology and related fields
APA PsycInfo: More info available in the PsycINFO LibGuide
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal literature in psychology, behavioral sciences and related fields.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed indexes articles in a broad range of biomedical fields. This version has links to UToledo specific tools and full text.
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature in sociology and related fields.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journals in sociology.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Additional Databases

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care, clinical information service for medical students, physicians, surgeons, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to publications and information on business topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching full text of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Also includes books and primary source materials. UT users have access to full text of retrospective issues for over 1,100 journals in 5 JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and VII, and Life Sciences. Subjects covered include anthropology, biology, botany, economics, ecology, education, history, mathematics, medicine, performing arts, political science, and sociology. (Note: Life Sciences Collection includes Ecology & Botany Collection, previously subscribed to separately.)
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching interdisciplinary collection of scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.

Online Journals Listing

ILLiad Interlibrary Loan Request System

LOG IN TO ILLiad

(New users create an account)

Subject Searching

Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query
"This tutorial shows how to build a targeted PubMed search starting in the MeSH database. It includes very brief background on MeSH terms and indexing." (NCBI)
PubMed Advanced Search Builder
"A tutorial describing how to use the Advanced Search Builder to help refine your PubMed searches." (NCBI)
Using CINAHL/Mesh Headings

Multidisciplinary/Multidatabase Searching in EBSCOhost

It is possible to select several EBSCOhost databases to search in more than one subject area. Simply select Choose Databases from the Advanced Search screen and mark the check boxes to the left of the databases you would like to search: