LibGuides: Master of Public Health Program Resources: Web Resources

Related Websites for Data and Statistics

To search in Google for government web sites, follow the keyword(s) with the word "site," a colon and .org

Example: communicable diseases site:.gov

Africa Index Medicus (AIM)
An international index to African health literature and information sources published in or related to Africa, produced by the World Health Organization, in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA).
BRFSS: Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (Center for Disease Control)
more...less...
Conducted by 50 state health departments and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands; provides state-specific information (and some community-level information) about a variety of issues including alcohol use, obesity, nutrition and physical activity, tobacco use, and more.
CDC WONDER (Wide-Ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research)
WONDER online databases are an ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data and reports.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Includes data, statistics and health behavior information on a variety of health topics.
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
Rankings are based on a model of population health that emphasizes the many factors that, if improved, can help make communities healthier places to live, learn, work and play. Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Univ of Wisconsin Population Health Institution
more...less...
Each county receives a summary rank for its health outcomes and health factors and also for the four different types of health factors: health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and the physical environment

The rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America.

Rankings are compiled using county-level measures from a variety of national and state data sources.
Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)
Coverage of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide.
Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
Evidence-based Practice collection for mental and substance use disorders. Items include Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources.
GlobalHealth.gov
From The Office of Global Affairs of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Provides international news on global health topics, regional fact sheets, and lists of relevant resources.
Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide)
A collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF)
healthevidence.org
Access to quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data.
The Health and Medicine Division (HMD) of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Publications to provide objective and straightforward advice to decision makers and the public. Includes Health and Medicine Division (HMD) publications released after 1998.
Health Department Directories -- CDC
Includes senior health officials, state, local, and territorial health departments, and tribes and Indian organizations.
The Health Resources and Services Administration
An agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Contains data and statistics and grant information.
healthypeople.gov
National objectives for improving the health of Americans. Includes resources for research.
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for a diverse and expanding social science research community.

An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
[US] National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Principal health statistics agency in the U.S
Public Health Foundation: Resources and Tools
A private, non-profit, organization based in Washington, DC, whose mission is to advance the public health workforce to achieve organizational excellence. PHF has developed effective resources, tools, information, and training for health agencies, organizations, and individuals.
Public Health Genomics
From the CDC's Office of Public Health Genomics; contains an overview of the condition or disease, a discussion of the population affected, recommendations for health management, and links for further reading.
Public Health Workforce Interests and Needs Survey
Nationally representative survey of individual state health agency workers.
SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration)
Authoritative information for researchers and the public, with links to initiatives which feature descriptions, resources, and data on many SAMHSA-funded programs.
World Heath Organization (WHO)
Includes Data, publications, country information, and more.
World Health Organization: Data and Statistics