Skip to Main Content

Margaret M. Papp Perry Memorial Hungarian Culture Endowment Collection: Web Resources

The Margaret M. Perry Memorial Endowment Fund was established on December 28, 1988 by Dr. Richard Perry to "support the development of the collection of materials related to the Magyar-Hungarian people, their history and their culture."

About the Web Resources

Links to Web-based resources on the Internet related to Hungarian language, arts, humanities, and sciences were first collected in the context of this project.  As with most Websites, they may migrate or disappear without any notices.  While this guide is being monitored and updated, please feel free to contact Arjun Sabharwal if you discover any broken links. Thank you!

MULTI-DISCIPLINARY DIGITAL REPOSITORIES, ARCHIVES & CATALOGS

Digital Public Library of America: (keyword=hungar*); (keyword=magyar*)

Directory of Open Access Books (subject=Hungary)

Erdélyi Múzeum Egyesület - Erdélyi Digitális Adattár - (Transylvanian Museum Fellowship - Transylvanian Data Repository)

Europeana (keyword=hungar*); (keyword=magyar*)

Internet Archive (keywords=hungar*); (keyword=magyar)

MaNDA: Magyar Nemzeti Digitális Archívum (Hungarian National Digital Archive)

OHIOLink - Central Library Catalog (subject=hungar*); (subject=magyar*)

Art

Arts and Heritage in Central Europe - Access to information about exhibitions and other events in the domain of art history in four Central European countries: the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia.

Artpool - Art Research Center

Art Portal - Comprehensive database on Hungarian contemporary art

Castles of Historical Hungary (in Hungarian)

Fine Arts in Hungary - Virtual museum with a searchable database

Hungarian Electronic Library - Culture, Arts, Literature

Hungarian Musicology Institute - Online Databases

Hungarian National Gallery (English) - The largest national collection documenting the history of fine arts in Hungary

Literatura.hu - Cultural portal

Museum.hu - the homepage of Hungarian museums

Museums in Hungary on the Web (including virtual museums and databases)

Research Institute for Art History of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences - collections

UNESCO World Heritage Sites - Hungary

Web Gallery of Art - an online database of European Art from the 11th to mid-19th centuries

History

Budapest City Archives, Databases - an online database of historical documents of Budapest, Hungary

DEGOB (National Committee for Attending Deportees/Deportáltakat Gondozó Országos Bizottság) - Hungarian Holocaust survivor' Database

Hungarian Electronic Library (Largely in Hungarian, select the disciplines on the left)

Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Research Institution for Linguistics - Databases of the Institute

Hungarian Jewish Museum and Archives - Combination of Judaica objects, artefacts and archives

Hungarian Maps From 1920 Protesting The Treaty of Trianon

Hungaricana - Hungarian Cultural Heritage Portal

Institute and Museum of Military History - Hungarian Ministry of Defence, Military History Institute and Museum

The Institute for the History of the 1956 Hungarian Revolution - Oral History Archives on the Memory of Nations website

National Archives of Hungary - A collection and database of documents, photographs related to Hungarian history

National Digital Data Archives - Databases containing national cultural assets in digital form

Radix - Genealogy research in Hungary

University Library of Szeged, Military History Collection - English index to the collections

Vasváry Collection - A collection on Hungarians in America, founded by Edmund Vasváry at Somogyi Library

Social Science

About Hungary - Official Government Website

Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA) - Searchable data catalogue for social science research

Földhivatali Portál - Official portal of the Hungarian Land Administration

Hungarian Central Statistical Office - Statistics by subject

Hungarian Electronic Library - Social Sciences

Hungarian Geoportal - A GeoNetwork catalog application to manage spatially referenced resources

Hungary in Maps

Introduction to Hungarian Law Research

KDK Repository, Research Documentation Centre(RDC) - Browse through research conducted at the four institutes (Institute for Legal Studies, Institute for Minority Studies, Institute for Political Science, Institute for Sociology) of the Centre for Social Sciences and download research collections.

Maps on the Hungarian part of the Web

OECD Data on Hungary

Open Society Archives - Data archives provided by the Vera and Donald Blinken Open Society Archives (OSA) at Central European University (CEU)

TÁRKI - Hungarian National Social Science Data Archive

Voices of the 20th Century  - Archive and Research Group