Skip to main content

Biographical Information

Finding information about people's lives.

Major Reference Works

Gale's Literature Resource Center

Gale's Literature Resource Center includes biographical entries from a variety of Gale Reference series, including Contemporary Authors and Something about the Author

Contemporary Authors is a bio-bibliographical guide to writers in many fields, including fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, and television. Biographical and bibliographical sources are employed, as well as authors' responses and original, in-depth interviews.

Something About the Author is also international in scope. Covers contemporary authors and illustrators of books for young people. Entries range from a few paragraphs to several pages and include basic personal and career data, as well as information on writings, works in progress and semi-autobiographical sidelights. Portraits, selected illustrations, addresses and references are also provided.

After performing a search (you can use the search box below), click on the Biographies tab to see relevant biographical information.

EBSCO's Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a database that encompasses over 100,000 current writers from 1962 to present, with some pre-1960's "greats" included. Covers all literary genres, as well as other kinds of writers such as print journalists, screenwriters and cartoonists. Major international writers whose work was published in the U.S. or translated are also included. Entries provide detailed information with references and addresses included. The database can be searched by: author, title, genre, full text, personal information, career information, honors and awards and media adaptations.

After performing a search (you can use the search box on this page), click on the Biographies tab to see relevant biographical information.

Research databases