Very brief entries covering national and state leaders. Arranged by the following categories: Presidents, Vice Presidents, Cabinet Members, Supreme Court Justices, Members of Congress and Governors. Alphabetic arrangement within category. Party affiliation identified. Appendixes include the make-up of cabinets by president, party affiliation of presidents and respective congresses and congressional leadership by session.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) JK1012 .F57 1999
Publication Date: 1999-10-30
This comprehensive reference guide to women who have served in Congress provides detailed biographies of each of the 200 women who have held office on Capitol Hill over the past 80 years. Along with statistics on their congressional service, the biographies contain first-hand interviews and personal anecdotes. An introduction outlines the history of women in Congress, the obstacles they faced early in the century as well as today, and their slow but steady rise to power within the congressional hierarchy. The introduction also looks at how women campaign for national office and how the sexual scandal surrounding President Bill Clinton played a role in women running for Congress in 1998. There are also two reference charts showing every woman who has ever chaired a congressional committee, and the number of women serving in each congressional session since 1917.
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court includes signed essays profiling the men and women who have served and are serving on the U.S. Supreme Court. This one-of-a-kind reference includes not only important biographical information, but also in-depth details of the legal contributions made by the men and women of the nation's highest bench. Justices are arranged in an easy-to-use alphabetical format. Each essay is prefaced with key biographical information for each justice such as: Birth and death dates Date of nomination to the Court The name of president who nominated the justice The date he or she was seated Date range of service on the Court Within each essay, written by a top legal expert, scholar, or journalist, Biographical Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court provides facts and context along with analysis of the opinions and legal philosophies for each justice.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) E176.1 .H215 2001
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Presidents: A Biographical Dictionary, Second Edition closely examines the hopes and disappointments, the victories and defeats, and the integrity and weaknesses of the men who have held this office. Each of the profiles presented in this book traces the points at which presidential character, the exercise of power, and external events intersect. Presidents, Second Edition presents information suitable for exploratory research or for a casual reading of the history of the United States's chief executives and their legacies. Presidents, Second Edition contains: biographies and portraits of all the presidents, a detailed, up-to-date chronology of the life of each president, suggested further reading, including new sources, about each president, an appendix that presents personal facts about the presidents, election results, and details of the presidential cabinets, an updated general bibliography and an index. Book jacket.
Since the U.S. Constitution became the law of the land on March 4, 1789, 106 men and two women have served on the United States Supreme Court. Among the most powerful individuals of their time, some justices have wielded more influence than the presidents who appointed them. In their position as interpreters of the Constitution, they have exercised great influence on the political opinions of legislators and citizens alike. Supreme Court Justices is an ideal ready-reference resource for high school and college students and general readers alike. An introductory essay discusses the creation of the Supreme Court and its place in American history. In addition to providing basic biographical Information, each entry: Details the decisions for which the justice is known; Analyzes the impact the justice had on the Court and American law overall; Includes suggestions for further reading. Also included are appendixes providing additional information on the succession of justices, appointments to the Supreme Court by each president, and important cases; a glossary; a bibliography; and a detailed chronology.
In The Men Who Made the Constitution, constitutional scholar John R. Vile explores the lives and contributions of all delegates to the 1787 Constitutional Convention, including those who left before the Convention ended and those who stayed until the last day but refused to sign. Each biography records the delegate's birth, education, previous positions or public service roles, homes, family life, life after the Convention, death, and resting place. Drawing directly from Convention debates and a vast array of secondary sources, Vile covers the positions of each delegate at the Convention on both major and minor issues and describes his service on committees and afterward at state ratification conventions.
Covering some of the most famous figures in world history, including William the Conqueror, Henry VIII, and Queens Victoria, Elizabeth I, and Elizabeth II, the Historical Dictionary of the British Monarchy provides a chronology starting with the year 495 and continuing to the present day, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant persons, places, events, institutions, and other aspects of British culture, society, economy, and politics. This book is a must for anyone interested in the British monarchy.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) D507 .B67 2001
Publication Date: 2001-10-12
Featuring over 1,000 alphabetically arranged, biographical entries, Who's Who in World War One builds up a complete and vivid picture of the major figures of the Great War. The subjects are drawn not only from the political and military spheres of all thirty-two nations involved, but also from the social and cultural life of the period. Each entry provides biographical data and basic factual information about its subject's role in the Great War, and in the case of major figures there is also an assessment of their reputation in the light of current scholarship. Maps, cross-referencing, a list of military ranks, a guide to further reading and a thorough introduction complete what is at once a comprehensive work of reference and a fascinating overview of a crucial period in twentieth century history.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) D736 .W48 1995
Publication Date: 1995-07-13
This fascinating and authoriative guide assembles the most important and significant characters from amongst the vast array of those involved in this monumental conflict. World War II, unlike World War I, was truly a global conflict, fought in every one of the five continents, and by combatants from every continental region. It was also, as World War I had not been, a conflict of ideologies. As a result its most significant figures have a particular richness and depth, including not only soldiers and statesmen of orthodox background but three dictators of world stature, and a host of politicians, heroes, martyrs, idealists, and traitors. From the British minister Duff Cooper to the dictator Joseph Stalin, from Nancy Fiocca of the French Resistance to Hitler in all his manifestations, every angle of the war is represented in intriguing detail. Each entry conveys not only the salient facts about the life and career of each figure but also the flavor of their individuality.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) E467 .B56 1995
Publication Date: 1995-09-14
The Civil War and the men and women who lived during that time continue to interest, preoccupy, and bemuse a wide and various population. This volume provides information on 872 men and women of the Union, covering those who influenced the course of public policy, opinion, and events. Coverage of political leaders, such as congressmen and cabinet officers, is comprehensive, while others, such as editors, photographers, and abolitionists, are covered selectively. Military leaders are included for specific contributions to the Union. Each profile provides biographical information about the person, stressing the war years and offering an assessment of the individual's place in the Union. Each entry concludes with bibliographic sources. Taken together, the profiles illumine those mystic chords of memory that continue to tie us yet to the Civil War generation.
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) U51 .K43 1996
Publication Date: 1996-05-13
Who's Who in Military History looks at those people who have shaped the course of war. Broad in geographical and chronological scope, it concentrates on all the major periods and conflicts in history, from 1453 up to and including the Persian Gulf War. It provides: * detailed biographies of the most interesting and important figures in military history * a series of maps showing the main theatres of war * a glossary of common words and phrases * a unique and valuable source of information for both the student and the general reader.
Originally published in 1849, this work gives details of "the life and services of every living officer in 'Her Majesty's Navy" who was serving or had retired by 1845 - nearly 5,000 officers in all. Generally acknowledged as the most comprehensive work of its kind, it was a considerable undertaking for one man to piece together such detailed biographies. This information was compiled from official records and from details supplied by the officers themselves. The service details found on every page reflect the centuries-old naval traditions of devotion to duty and great bravery in the face of danger. They also provide information on the many naval actions that were fought at the end of the eighteenth and first half of nineteenth centuries.
This unique reference presents 59 biographies of people who were key to the sea services being reasonably prepared to fight the Japanese Empire when the Second World War broke out, and whose advanced work proved crucial. The dictionary focuses on these pioneers, many of whom went on, even after World War II, to important positions in the Navy, the State Department, the Armed Forces Security Agency, the National Security Agency, and the Central Intelligence Agency. It reveals the work and innovations of well and lesser-known individuals who created the foundations of today's intelligence apparatus and analysis.
This biographical dictionary documents the Union army colonels who commanded regiments from Indiana, Kentucky and Tennessee. Entries are arranged first by state and then by regiment, and provide a biographical sketch of each colonel focusing on his Civil War service. Many of the colonels covered herein never rose above that rank, failing to win promotion to brigadier general or brevet brigadier general, and have therefore received very little scholarly attention prior to this work.