LibGuides: Locating Health Statistics: Diseases and Conditions

Coronavirus Statistics

Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases Dashboard
Nearly real time dashboard - it includes data about confirmed cases, deaths and recoveries, and maps where the cases are reported and are most prevalent.
more...less...
The statistics behind the data visualization are being collected from the World Health Organization, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Health Commission of the People's Republic of China, and Dingxiangyuan, a social networking site for health care professionals that provides real-time information on cases.
CDC- Coronavirus
Includes situation summary, cases in the US, global locations with COVID-19, and latest updates
Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak situation reports
World Health Organization. Updated daily.
Total/new cases in last 24 hours, distribution map, surveillance tables, epidemic curve

Finding Aids - Diseases and Conditions

Federal and international agencies are the most comprehensive publishers of health statistics.
These links have information collected by major organizations

Global Health Observatory Data - WHO
Data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.
Data and Tools - CDC
Click on the "Data and Tools" tab
Specific links to Data Access, Data Tools, Data Analysis Aids, and Data Visualizations
Data and Statistics - CDC
Links by Topic (as asthma, heart disease) and also Tools (Data.CDC.gov, Health Indicators Warehouse, and Interactive Database Tools)
Diseases and Conditions - CDC
Use A-Z list through alphabet or links through Popular Health Topics
MedlinePlus
Good for "Fast Stats" - search by topic. US National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine
more...less...
Includes only major statistic sources
Search by disease/condition
Look for subheading "Statistics" in results

Broad Ranges of Health Topics

National Center for Health Statistics - CDC
Aims for quick and easy access to the wide range of information and data available to the Nation's principal health statistics agency
Data and Tools tab links to more as Data Access, Data tools, Data Analysis Aids and Data Visualization
National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System
Covers both infectious and noninfections diseases and conditions.
more...less...
Data about national notifiable diseases and conditions are collected by reporting jurisdictions through their reportable disease surveillance programs.
National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) - CDC
The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) has monitored the health of the nation since 1957. NHIS data on a broad range of health topics are collected through personal household interviews

Select Diseases/Conditions

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) -- CDC
Autism Society -- Facts and Statistics
Autism Spectrum Disorder
From the Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC)

To find more statistics in Google, search for cancer statistics site:.gov or cancer statistics site:.org

Global Cancer Observatory
Provides access to information on the occurrence of cancer world-wide held by the Descriptive Epidemiology Group of the International Agency for Research on Cancer, part of the World Health Organization (WHO). Non-Federal Web site
more...less...
GLOBOCAN provides access to the most recent estimates (for 2012) of the cancer incidence, mortality and prevalence for 28 cancers worldwide.

The Cancer and Obesity website provides a variety of interactive tools for analysing and visualizing data on the estimated global burden of cancer in 2012 attributable to excess body weight.

CI5 (Cancer Incidence in Five Continents) provides access to detailed information on the incidence of cancer recorded by cancer registries (regional or national) worldwide.

WHO presents long time series of selected cancer mortality recorded in selected countries of the world, together with advanced prediction and trends analysis facilities.
United States Cancer Statistics (CDC)
These statistics include cancer registry data from CDC’s National Program of Cancer Registries (NPCR) and the National Cancer Institute’s (NCI) Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program,External as well as mortality data from CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics.
more...less...
Also cancer data by state, maps, tables, and graphs
CDC Wonder
[Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research]
Includes cancer incidence and mortality - current and archives
more...less...
Also AIDS, Briths, Cancer statistics, Healthy People 2010, MMWR Morbidity and Mortality Tables,
Some chronic conditions, communicable diseases, environmental and occupational health, prevention
National Program of Cancer Registries
US Cancer incidence data collected from medical facilities
Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results program (SEER)
Use tabs "Cancer Statistics" and "SEER Data and Software" to find additional statistics not on home page.
more...less...
SEER collects data on cancer cases from various locations and sources throughout the United States.
Cancer registries receive and collect data about cancer patients. There are two major types of cancer registries: population-based registries and hospital-based registries. Cancer registrars are the people who collect and report cancer data.
NCI Cancer Atlas
App and text versions. Options for topic (as incidence, mortality), area, and race
Includes historical data (under Topic)
Cancer Data and Statistics [OH Dept of Health]
Lucas County Health Assessment [2016-17] - Cancer
Cancer section starts on page 94

Cardiovascular Diseases [WHO]
Click on ..Publications..in left column
Quick Maps of Heart Disease, Stroke, and Socio-economic Conditions
View and download maps on heart disease and stroke showing national data, health care costs, and social determinants of health data
Heart Disease
Government and Nonprofit related statistics
Lucas County Health Assessment (2016/17) - Cardiovascular Diseases
pp 85-90, also search document with word....cardiovascular
American Heart Association
Heart disease and stroke statistics, offered in a variety of formats.

To find more statistics in Google, search for diabetes statistics site:.gov or diabetes statistics site:.org

Global Report on Diabetes (2016)
Includes country profiles, infographic, and presentations (PPT & PDF)
https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-statistics#diabetes
Statistics and resources on diabetes in America with a focus on American children, African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, Hispanics/Latinos, and the Pima Indians. From the NIDDK.
Diabetes - Data & Statistics
National, state, and county data/trends. Option for interactive data on any device. Diabetes State Burden Toolkit.
Diabetes Statistics (Ohio)
Click on Maps
Lucas County Health Assessment [2016/17]
pages 98-9

To find more statistics in Google, search for "genetic disorders" statistics site:.gov or "genetic disorders" statistics site:.org

Health Conditions - Genetics Home Reference
Locate specific condition, scroll down to Frequency.
more...less...
Also check references. Consider also searching PubMed.
Human Genome Epidemiology Network (HuGENet
Contains the HuGE Published Literature Database, an online knowledge base of population-based, epidemiological studies of human genes published in journals included in PubMed; and the Genotype Prevalence Catalog, which includes population-based genotype frequency data that are stratified by geographic area, race, and/or gender.

To find more statistics in Google, search for STDs statistics site:.gov or "STDs" statistics site:.org
or a specific STD (as HIV/AIDS)

HIV/AIDS (WHO)
Global situation and trends. Links to maps, reports, country profiles, and country fact sheets.
HIV/AIDS Data and Statistics
The UNAIDS/WHO Global HIV/AIDS Online Database collates the most recent country-specific data on the spread and impact of the virus, together with information on risk behaviors. Health sector response information is also an essential part of this database.
ISID - Program for Monitoring Emerging Diseases
ProMED-Mail serves as a central site for global news, updates, and discussions of outbreaks of emerging and re-emerging diseases that affect human health. It also links to outbreak maps. Operated by the International Society for Infectious Diseases. Non-federal site.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases -[CDC]
Links directly to Data & Statistics page
HIV Stastics Center - CDC
HIV Surveillance Report and more
Links to other national as well as international links
CDC Wonder
[Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research]

Includes AIDS Public Use Data, STD morbidity, and tuberculosis
HIV & AIDS Costs & Use
A resource from the Center for Disease Contron (CDC) regarding usage of health services by people with HIV.
[Ohio] HIV/AIDS Surveillance Program
Lucas County Health Assessment (2016/17) - Mental Health
Adults - pp 83-4; Youth pp 127-9

To find more statistics in Google, search with phrases as "mental health" statistics site:.gov or "mental health" statistics site:.org

Mental Health [WHO]
Graph, maps, and reports
Statistics (National Institute of Mental Health)
Currently available statistics on the prevalence and treatment of mental illnesses among the U.S. population.
Includes mental illness, ADHD, Bipolar disorder, eating disorders, PTSD, suicide
more...less...
In addition, information is provided about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
Data and Dissemination
Categories include Alcohol Misuse, Cocaine, Depression, Marijuana, Tobacco, Treatment, Health Finance Seious
more...less...
Priority Topics (Oct 2018) - Serious Mental Illness, Serious Emotional Disturbance, Opioids
Mental Health
Morbidity, Physician office visits, ER visits, Mortality, and more
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance system (BRFSS)
US prevalence data includes health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services
more...less...
The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. Established in 1984 with 15 states, BRFSS now collects data in all 50 states as well as the District of Columbia and three U.S. territories. BRFSS completes more than 400,000 adult interviews each year, making it the largest continuously conducted health survey system in the world.

By collecting behavioral health risk data at the state and local level, BRFSS has become a powerful tool for targeting and building health promotion activities.
Lucas County Health Assessment (2016/17)
pages 83-4

Opioid Related Statistics

Opioid Overdose - Understanding the Epidemcic
Detailed statistics [from 2016] and government programs to prevent overdose deaths
more...less...
CDC
Opioid Overdose Crisis (NIH)
March 2018 article on overview of crisis including general statistics, national programs, and links to related resource
Data, Trends, and Statistics - Opiate Addiction and Treatment
Links to materials in the following areas:
Understanding Addiction, Opioid Overdose, Related treaments, Prescribing, Recovery, Statistics, and more
Specific Populations and Prescription Drug Misues and Abuse
2014 data. Populations include Men/Women, Youth/Young Adults, Adults 50 and over, Veterns/Military Service Members
more...less...
Also search SAMHSA with the word...opioid
Key Ohio initiatives combating prescription opioid abuse
Document developed by the Governor's Cabinet Opiate Action Team highlighting the key Ohio initiatives being used to combat prescription opioid abuse, a key risk factor for illicit drug use
more...less...
Oct 1, 2018, latest stats are from 2017

2019 Alzheimer's Disease Facts and Figures
Alzheimer's Association
Alzheimer's Disease
US National Center for Health Statistics
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance system (BRFSS)
nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
more...less...
Nation's largest and oldest system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. Established in 1984 with 15 states,
SAMHSA Reports and Data Tables ( Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA))
Search with a word or short phrase.
And/Or use filters as population; report type; issues, conditions and disorders; dates
National Institute of Mental Health
Provides links to several data and statistics sites related to mental health, including the Global Burden of Disease study.

Data Collection and Analysis of Healthcare-Associated Infections (HAIs)
CDC surveillance data on nosocomial infections.

To find more statistics in Google, search for obesity statistics site:.gov or obesity statistics site:.org

Obesity
WHO. Interactive graphs and fact sheets by region.
World Obesity Federation -- Data
Contains maps and tables illustrating obesity prevalence worldwide.
BRFSS Prevalence & Trends Data
Explore Body Mass Index (MBI) by location
Obesity -- Data, Trends and Maps
From the CDC, Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity
Lucas County Health Assessment (2016/17)
See pp. 54-56 for Weight Status of Adults
See pp. 110-113 for Weight Status of Youth

Nutrition (WHO)
Fact sheet, guideline, and statistic links. WHO.
Health, Nutrition and Population - World Bank
Search by indicator, use health dashboard for tables/graphs, find key health indicators with thematic data and more
Nutrition - Data and Statistics
CDC. Data sets, reports, and systems related to nutrition are provided.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States.
more...less...
The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
Nutrition - Resources and Publications
CDC. Links to the latest nutrition related resources and publications.
Nutrition Reports, Studies and Statistics
USDA.Features general and key reports and studies on a variety of nutrition topics. For example reports on child and maternal topics, state fact sheets, food access, added sugars, nutrition and disease
more...less...
For other studies, be sure to look under the specific topic of interest, such as [links provided] Weight and Obesity, or US Nutrition Assistance Programs.

Web - based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS)
An interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources.
Injury Data and Resources
Overview of injury morbidity and mortality data and statistics available from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities
US Bureau of Labor Statistics.
more...less...
Annual information on the rate and number of work-related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries, and how these statistics vary by incident, industry, geography, occupation, and other characteristics.

See also links at Finding Aids as CDC Wonder and also links at Health Statistics by location

Disease Reports

International Society for Infectious Diseases ProMED-Mail
ProMED-Mail serves as a central site for global news, updates, and discussions of outbreaks of emerging and re-emerging diseases that affect human health. It also links to outbreak maps. Operated by the International Society for Infectious Diseases. Non-federal site.
CDC- National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases (NCEZID)
Emerging and zoonotic infections ranging from A to Z—anthrax to Zika
Statistics included in the links under "Stories and Features" and Multimedia
National Notifiable Disease Surveillance System
Nationwide collaboration that enables all levels of public health—local, state, territorial, federal, and international—to share notifiable disease related health information.
more...less...
Public health uses this information to monitor, control, and prevent the occurrence and spread of state-reportable and nationally notifiable infectious and noninfectious diseases and conditions and outbreaks.
Foodborne Diseases Active Surveillance Network (FoodNet)
It estimates the number of foodborne illnesses, monitors trends in incidence of specific foodborne illnesses over time, attributes illnesses to specific foods and settings, and disseminates this information.
more...less...
FoodNet Fast is CDC’s interactive online program for getting information on cases of illness reported to the Foodborne Diseases Active Surveillance Network (FoodNet).
Zika Research Guide
Georgetown Law Library