LibGuides: Locating Health Statistics: General statistics

General Statistics - Finding Aids

Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page.

Check out the FAQ page for info on what it is, how to use it, and some troubleshooting tips

International General Statistics

World Bank Open Data
Data about development in countries around the globe. Search or browse for indicator names, countries, and topics
more...less...
Includes statistics in the following: demographics, energy, agriculture and economy,climate change, science & technology
Global Health Observatory Data - WHO
Data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.
United Nations Statistics Division
Global statistics including demographics, economics, envronment, and energy
UNdata
Database sources include WHO data, UNAIDS, UNDP, UNSD, UNICEF.
more...less...
Also consider using the Advanced Search page.
Click on "More" above the search box.
Country Statistics (UNICEF)
Includes child mortality rates, nutrition, health, education, demographics, protection, disparities and much more. The main statistics page also gives access to UNICEF’s flagship publication called The State of the World’s Children. Each year’s report focuses on a key issue affecting children around the world (children with disabilities, child rights, etc.). Anyone needing information or statistics on the state of children internationally will find useful information on UNICEF’s Website
more...less...
Links to " The State of the World’s Children". Each year’s report focuses on a key issue affecting children around the world.
Global Human Development Indicators
The HDI measures development by combining indicators of life expectancy, education attainment, and income. United Nations
more...less...
The Human Development Report Office releases five indexes each year: The Human Development Index (HDI), the Inequality-Adjusted Human Development Index, the Gender Development Index (GDI), the Gender Inequality Index (GII), and the Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI). The data used in these indices and other human development indicators presented here are provided by a variety of public international sources and represent the best and most available statistics available for those indicators at the time of the preparation of the annual report.
International Data - US Census
The U.S. Census Bureau provides international data products and tools in a variety of formats.
Nationmaster [International]
Contains "country statistics on everything from obesity to murders". Created by a Web technology company
more...less...
A "massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations".
Sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. One can generate maps and graphs with found statistics.

US General Statistics

Data and Statistics about the U.S.
Find data about the US, such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Includes links to health data.
Good place to start if unsure which US agency collects data on a topic
Data.gov
Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
more...less...
Topics as health, climate, education, and public safety

State and Local General Statistics

Many statistical resources found through the USA box (above) are broken down by state and local entity (cities, towns, villages, etc)

Quick Facts
Enter state, county, city, town, or zip code. US Census Bureau