Health Statistics - Finding Aids - Locating Health Statistics - LibGuides at University of Toledo Libraries

Finding aids

Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources
Direct links to 150+ data resources from 11 US agencies and their subdivisions
CDC Wonder
[Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research]
For the analysis of public health data. Includes Mortality and Population statistics. US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
more...less...
Also AIDS, Briths, Cancer statistics, Healthy People 2010, MMWR Morbidity and Mortality Tables,
Some chronic conditions, communicable diseases, environmental and occupational health, prevention
NCHS Surveys and Data Collection Systems
A listing of CDC population surveys, vital records, provider surveys, and historical surveys
Surveys and Data Collection Systems - CDC
Links to population surveys, vital records, provider surveys, historical surveys
more...less...
CDC National Center for Health Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics - CDC
Links to data collection systems (population and provider surveys); Topics (FastStats); Data and Tools; Publications, and more
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
A program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States.
more...less...
The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
Healthy People 2030
Use the "Data Search" tab to explore data and technical information related to the Health People 2020 objectives
more...less...
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to:

Encourage collaborations across communities and sectors.
Empower individuals toward making informed health decisions.
Measure the impact of prevention activities.
HealthData.gov
Growing sets of data from HHS' vaults (from CMS, CDC, FDA and NIH, to name a few sources) easily available and accessible.
more...less...
This information includes clinical care provider quality information, nationwide health service provider directories, databases of the latest medical and scientific knowledge, consumer product data, community health performance information, government spending data and much more.
Data, Tools and Statistics
Selective links representing a sample of available information, government and non government. [US] National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
more...less...
.
Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page.
more...less...
The FAQ page has info about what Dataset Search is, how to use it, and some troubleshooting tips
Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page.

Periodicals

Weekly Epidemiological Record
Epidemiological information on cases and outbreaks of diseases. World Health Organization
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Includes surveillance summaries. US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Health Statistics Tutorials

Sources of Health Statistics
Tutorial - National Institutes of Health