Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NURS 3290: Nursing Research 2 - BSN Program

This guide is designed to assist you with conducting research for your course assignments in NURS 3290: Nursing Research 2

How to do a Subject Heading Search in a Database

Subject Heading searching is a more specific and targeted way to search for articles than keyword searching.  

Articles in databases are indexed (or categorized) with subject heading terminology which works like a thesaurus.  If there is more than one way of describing a concept or topic (i.e. hypertension or high blood pressure), the subject heading will take all of those varieties into consideration - saving you the time of having to experiment with different keywords. For example, the subject heading for Hypertension will find articles that use the term high blood pressure. 

To do a Subject Heading search, follow the steps and tutorials in the charts below for your chosen database.

Performing Subject Heading Searches in EBSCOhost Databases

CINAHL and MEDLINE Databases

Database STEP 1 - To begin a subject heading search, click the corresponding link at the top of each database search screen: 
CINAHL CINAHL Subject Headings 
MEDLINE MeSH 2022 (note - MeSH is an acronym for Medical Subject Headings)

STEP 2 - Proceed with your search by following the instructions in the Using CINAHL/MeSH Headings video tutorial 

Additional Relevant EBSCOhost Databases

Database STEP 1 - To begin a subject heading search, click the corresponding link at the top of each database search screen: 
Alt Health Watch Subjects
APA PsycINFO APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms 
Education Research Complete Thesaurus
ERIC  Thesaurus
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Subjects
LGBTQ+ Source Thesaurus
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Subjects 
SocINDEX Subject Terms
Sociological Collection Subjects
SPORTDiscus Thesaurus

STEP 2 - Proceed with your search by following the instructions in the Browsing Subject Terms in EBSCOhost Databases video tutorial or the APA PsycINFO* Sample Search tutorial  

*Although this video is specific to the APA PsycINFO database, the search steps are similar in any of the databases above