Skip to main content

Animal Research Alternatives: Database Search Help

To support research scientists in searching the literature in order to comply with the Animal Welfare Act (7USC 2131-2156)

Database search tips

  • Select an appropriate database depending on your topic (Database selection guide)
     
  • Focus your search by consulting a database's unique help pages.
    Some databases will have related UT library help guides [box to the right]
     
  • Go back to the completed  Worksheet for Animal Testing Literature Searching - Before searching the literature.
    Return to the Listing of Keywords/Concepts
     
  • If the datatabase has a thesaurus, use the generated keywords to find subject headings.
     
  • Use keywords if no relevant subject headings are found, or if there are too few results
    Consider using keywords and subject headings for more complete search results.
    Use wildcards to search for variant endings (model* will search for model, models, modeling, etc.).
    Wildcard characters *,#, $) vary among databses.
     
  • Start with single concepts.
    Use AND to narrow the search  (primate AND replacement)
    Use OR  to broaden the serach (pain OR stress OR well-being)
  • Use available limits in the database when appropriate (time period, type of article, etc.)

[Adapted from: UC Davis Center for Animal Alternatives Information]

Specific Database Help

Most databases have help pages. The Mulford Library has created a number of additional help guides for these databases mentioned in this guide. Links to all Mulford Library help guides are available.

Searching PubMed (including MeSH)   (Mulford Library Guide)

  • PsycINFO

Quick Reference Guide: PsycINFO on EBSCO (PDF)

PsycINFO Library Guide  
(Mulford Library Guide)

This help guide is also useful for Web of Knowledge.
Web of Knowledge has databases the Core does not, as Biosis.
Web of knowledge includes option to exclude Medline records (Refine results in left column --> Databases)