LibGuides: Animal Research Alternatives: Database Selection Guide

Guides for Specific Database and Resource Selection

3R Guide
Norecopa (Norway's National Consensus Platform) in collaboration with USDA. 2014.
more...less...
Database and other Resource location (as discussion forums) for implementation of the 3Rs (Replacement, Reduction and Refinement in animal experiments).
The amount of information in 3R Guide will increase rapidly during 2014 and users are encouraged to revisit this page regularly.
Search for Alternatives - Databases
Altweb is currently being archived, (Apr 2019)so no new material will be added. Portions of this website will migrate to CAAT's main website. ( http://caat.jhsph.edu/)
more...less...
Databases grouped by research, testing, and teaching.
Free and subscription based resources with descriptions.

These databases are useful in locating current funded research. They are included as aids for not unnecessarily performing duplicate research.

NIH Reporter
Information on research projects funded by the NIH
more...less...
The information found in RePORTER is drawn from several extant databases–eRA databases, Medline, PubMed Central, the NIH Intramural Database, and iEdison–using newly-formed linkages among these disparate data sources.
USDA Research, Education, and Economics Information System (REEIS)
A source of information on the research, education and extension programs, projects and activities of the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and its partner institutions

[Adapted from Literature Searching: How to Find Animal Use Alternatives]

Literature Searching: How to Find Animal Use Alternatives
Article from the American Society of Laboratory Animal Practitioners (ASLAP) Newsletter.

These databases are great places to start finding material related to the first in the 3R's - Research:

AGRICOLA
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, books, audiovisuals and other agricultural resources. Created by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and its cooperators,
APA Psycinfo
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
More info available in the PsycINFO LibGuide
PubMed
National Center for Biotechnology Information Millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
more...less...
Topics include ,including: Natural disasters, Bioterrorism, Chemical terrorism, Pandemic infectious diseases
Science Direct
Content includes agricultural and biological sciences, veterinary science, and computer science
UToledo users can access full text of OhioLINK-subscribed journals. Books are searchable but not accessible.
SciFinder Scholar
How to register and perform searches in SciFinder Scholar and where to find help.
TOXNET
Toxnet has been retired. See list of substitute resources.
Web of Science Platform
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to several databases including Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS, MEDLINE, and Derwent Innovations Index. Formerly called 'Web of Knowledge'

These databases are especially useful for searching for materials associated with two(2) of the"3 Rs" - Reduction and Replacement.

Agricola This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature in agriculture and related disciplines in botany, biology, etc.
AGRICOLA provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Auxiliary subjects that support NAL's Information Center activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal welfare are also included in the database.

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Includes information on testing experimental design techniques that may be used to reduce the number of animals necessary for testing. For best results on design alternatives, use their Classification Codes

Refinement Database
Animal Welfare Institute database created in 2000 of publications on refinement of housing, husbandry, care, and use of animals in research. Updated every four months with newly published scientific articles, books, and other publications related to improving or safeguarding the welfare of animals used in research.