Sometimes, we say that one of our goals is help make you look good by making sure you have the information you need for your studies, your research, and your clinical experiences. This page provides an overview of difference resources and services available at the Mulford Health Science Library (and University Libraries). A good place to start, especially if you aren't feeling too confident about finding the right kind of information (and that's all of us at one time or another), is to assess your information need.
If you have any questions, stop by our circulation (circ) desk on the fourth floor, call 419-383-4225, or send email to MulfordReference@utoledo.edu.
We have online and print books! If you need a specific book, search our catalog to see if we have it.
UToledo Libraries: Search by title, author, subject, and more. In our catalog, you will see links to online books as well as information about print books we have here (location, call number, whether the book is available), at Carlson and the Law libraries (you can request books be sent to Mulford for checkout), and St. Vincent Medical Center library (from which you can request books be sent to Mulford for checkout - their clinical collection of books is great). Usually it only takes a few days to get a book from another library.
Not sure what books you have checked out? Need to know when books are due? Need to renew your books? Check your library record.
OhioLINK: OhioLINK is the statewide network of academic libraries. One of the may benefits of being part of OhioLINK is that you can request books be sent from another OhioLINK Library to Mulford for checkout. So if UToledo doesn't have the book you need, click on the OhioLINK button to search the OhioLINK catalog. Usually it takes less than a week to get a book from another OhioLINK library.
SearchOhio: If you are looking for a book for class, you probably won't find it in SearchOhio, the statewide network of public libraries. That said, SearchOhio is a great resource for fun reading and popular non-fiction. Access SearchOhio from the OhioLINK Catalog (look for the SearchOhio button), you can then find the book you want and have it sent to Mulford for checkout. Usually it takes less than a week to get a book from a SearchOhio library. (No direct link to the SearchOhio catalog because you need to access it through OhioLINK to request your book.)
ILLiad. If you need a book that is not available in any of the above sources, submit an interlibrary services request. Our interlibrary services unit will identify a library that has the book and request it. It is hard to predict how long it will take to get a book from another library using interlibrary services. It depends on the lending library and the U.S. Postal Service. For more information about interlibrary services and our ILLiad interlibrary services platform, see our Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) LibGuide.
There are two parts of getting articles to use for your education, research, or clinical experiences: (1) identifying the right articles using a database; and (2) getting the full text of the articles.
You need to use the right tool to fine the right articles (at least to find the right articles in a way that doesn't waste time and increase frustration). A colleague once mentioned that picking the right database is like picking a dating app: some are broad with little quality control (I'm looking at you, Google!), while others are a little narrower with a little higher quality (Google Scholar), and others are much narrower and even more selective (PubMed, Web of Science, etc.). The University Libraries has lots of databases, but these are the ones most relevant for programs on our campus:
Identifying the right articles is only the first step. Next: how to get a hold of the full-text of the article. Here are instructions created by one of our colleagues at the Carlson Library. Here's an even quicker overview, starting with what to do if you are in a database and have the record of the article on screen. Look for the yellow Find It!@UT icon and click on it.
Mostly, the Mulford Health Science Library deals with standard library resources: books, journals, and articles. We do have a wide range of non-book items at our circ desk (4th floor):
In room 408, the 4th floor computer lab, there are (please use these tools in 408):
LibGuides is our platform for guides to the library, such as the one that you are looking at right now. We have LibGuides for general library information, as well as guides for specific programs, courses, and resources.