Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electronic Resource Subscriptions: Cancellations & Additions

This guide provides information on The University of Toledo Libraries' annual subscription cancellations and additions.

SUMMARY, FY20-21

The financial impact of the coronavirus pandemic on The University of Toledo resulted in significant budget cuts across all colleges and departments for Fiscal Year 2020-2021 (July 1, 2020-June 30, 2021). Unfortunately, University Libraries was no exception. In addition to operating budget and staffing cuts, the Libraries' electronic resources subscription budget was reduced by 14% from the previous fiscal year. Total subscription expenditures for FY20-21 were $2,966,891, down from $3,453,726 in FY19-20. All subscription expenditures were for electronic resources. (University Libraries no longer subscribes to any print journals or indexes.)

After taking annual subscription inflation into account, the initial cancellation estimation was $550,000. However, the final amount was substantially less though still significant: $400,504. This was because many publishers kept their prices flat or annual increases lower than usual due to recognition of the severe economic impact of COVID-19 on higher education. In addition, OhioLINK was able to successfully renegotiate a number of existing agreements with publishers that reduced members' anticipated cost-sharing amounts for FY20-21.

All FY20/21 cancellations were for local (i.e., non-OhioLINK) products. See "Cancellations" box below for a list of all cancelled resources. The Libraries' Collection Services Unit and librarian subject specialists made every attempt possible to retain core essential resources in all of the academic disciplines that need the Libraries' support. Regretfully, however, UToledo users lost access to a substantial number of important and unique information resources.

OhioLINK added several new resources at the beginning of calendar year 2021, thanks to a one-time award of $2.5 million from the Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) Fund. GEER was part of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act passed by the U.S. Congress in March 2020. (Note: OhioLINK received a second round of GEER funding in October 2022.)  See "Additions" box at the bottom of this guide for a list of all resources added in FY20/21.

Please direct any questions or comments you may have regarding the Libraries' electronic resource subscriptions or decisions to add/cancel products to eresources@utoledo.edu

(Last updated: 11/29/22)

CANCELLATIONS

RESOURCE TYPE ACCESS ENDED NOTE
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy Streaming videos Dec 31, 2020  
American Journal of Psychiatry E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Artstor Database Dec 31, 2020  
ATLA Religion Index Database Jun 30, 2020  
BCC Research Database Dec 31, 2020  
British Journal of Sports Medicine E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
CALICO Journal E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Chronicle of Higher Education (premium site license access) E-journal Jul  14, 2020  
Classical Music Library Streaming musical recordings Jun 30, 2020  
Cochrane Library Database Jun 30, 2020 Local subscription cancelled; OhioLINK subscription added in Jan 2021 (see ADDITIONS below)
Digital Theatre Plus Streaming videos Dec 31, 2020  
Disability & Society E-Journal Dec 31, 2020  
DynaMed Plus Database Jun 30, 2020  
Emerald Journals: Management & Engineering E-journals Dec 31, 2020  
Feminist Media Studies E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
GenderWatch Database Jun 30, 2020  
GeoRef Database Jun 30, 2020  
Illinois Journal of Mathematics E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Journal of Cell Biology E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Journal of Human Trafficking E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
JoVE Science Education: Essentials of Behavioral Science

Streaming videos

Sep 14, 2020  
JoVE Science Education: Essentials of Developmental Biology Streaming videos Sep 14, 2020  
JoVE Science Education: Essentials of Genetics Streaming videos Sep 14, 2020  
JoVE Science Education: Essentials of Neuroscience Streaming videos Sep 14, 2020  
JoVE Science Education: General Lab Techniques Streaming videos Sep 14, 2020  
Kanopy (reduced allocation) Streaming videos   Not cancelled, allocation reduced by $10,000
LibInsight Library admin tool Jun 30, 2020  
LibWizard Library admin tool Jun 30, 2020  
Nagoya Mathematical Journal E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Biotechnology E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Cell Biology E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Energy E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Genetics E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Immunology E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Medicine E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Neuroscience E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Reviews Cancer E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Reviews Drug Discovery E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Reviews Immunology E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Reviews Microbiology E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Nature Structural and Molecular Biology E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Neurosurgery E-journal Jul 31, 2020  
NewsBank America's News Database Dec 31, 2020  
Nursing Reference Center Plus Database Jun 30, 2020  
Operators and Matrices E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Ovid/Lippincott Medical Journals (reduced concurrent access for 5 titles) E-journals Jul 31, 2020 All subscribed titles now 1 user at a time
Oxford (Grove) Music Online Database Jun 30, 2020  
Passport Database Jan 31, 2021  
Philosopher's Index Database Jun 30, 2020  
Politics, Groups, and Identities E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
PrivCo Database Jan 17, 2021  
Psychotherapy.net (49 videos) Streaming videos Sep 9, 2020 Renewed license for 1 video out of 50
Readex America's Historical Imprints & Newspapers (9 databases) Database Dec 31, 2020  
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Database Jun 30, 2020  
Transportation Research Record E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Urban Geography E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
Violence and Gender E-journal Dec 31, 2020  
TOTAL AMOUNT CANCELLED FY20/21 $400,504

(Last updated: 11/29/22)

ADDITIONS

RESOURCE TYPE ACCESS BEGAN NOTE
Cambridge University Press E-Books E-books Jun 1, 2020 OhioLINK resource
Cochrane Library Database Jan 1, 2021 OhioLINK resource; cost covered for 1 year with first round of Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds
Drama Online (2 collections) Streaming videos Mar 1, 2021 Subscribed collections: Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy & Royal Shakespeare Company Live
InfoBase Films on Demand Streaming videos Mar 1, 2021 OhioLINK resource; cost covered for 1 year with first round of Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds
JoVE Core Science Videos + Lab Manuals Streaming videos Jan 1, 2021 OhioLINK resource; cost covered for 2 years with first round of Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds
MIT Press Direct E-books Jan 1, 2021 OhioLINK resource; cost covered with first round of Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds; perpetual access
SAGE Business Cases Collection Database Jan 1, 2021 OhioLINK resource; cost covered with first round of Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds; perpetual access
TOTAL AMOUNT ADDED, FY20/21 $4,510

(Last updated: 11/29/22)