The total amount budgeted for electronic resource subscriptions by The University of Toledo Libraries in FY23/24 (July 1, 2023-June 30, 2024) was $2,926,238, including general University funds and the Libraries' endowed and special collection funds. This was 5.0% less more than the previous fiscal year. The allocated amount from general University funds was $2,635,373. The allocated amount from the Libraries' endowed and special collection funds was was $290,065.
As of April 2,2024, the anticipated total of of electronic resource expenditures for FY/23/24 is $2,860,968. This is 7.1% less than actual subscription expenditures for FY22/23. All subscription expenditures were for electronic resources. (University Libraries no longer subscribes to any print journals or indexes.)
See below for lists of resources cancelled and added during FY23/24.
Please direct any questions or comments you may have regarding the Libraries' electronic resource subscriptions or decisions to cancel/add products to eresources@utoledo.edu.
(Last updated: 4/2/2024)
| RESOURCE | TYPE | ACCESS ENDS | NOTE |
| AccessMedicine | E-books | Jun 30, 2023 | About 20% of AccessMedicine titles (including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine) are still accessible via AccessPharmacy and AccessPhysiotherapy, which were both renewed. |
| AccessEngineering | E-books | Jun 30, 2023 | |
| American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation | E-journal | Jul 31, 2023 | Access remains to previously subscribed content via Ovid platform. |
| Anesthesiology | E-journal | Jul 31, 2023 | Access remains to previously subscribed content via Ovid platform. |
| Applied Physics Letters: Backfiles, 1962-1998 | E-journal | Dec 31, 2023 | Access to frontfile (newer) content remains, subscription renewed. |
| American Vacuum Society Journals (Journal of Vacuum Science &Technology, Biointerphases, Surface Sciences Spectra) | E-journals | Dec 31, 2023 | |
| CALICO Journal | Dec 31, 2023 | ||
| Computer Assisted Language Learning | E-journal | Dec 31, 2023 | |
| De Gruyter University Press E-Books: backlist (older) titles | E-books | Dec 31, 2023 | OhioLINK resource; cost was covered for 1 year with second round of Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds; access remains to purchased frontlist (newly published) titles from Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania university presses. |
| Elsevier (ScienceDirect) E-Books | E-books | Dec 1, 2023 | OhioLINK resource; cost was covered for 1 year with second round of Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds; access remains to high-use titles selected for purchase. |
| Genetics | E-journal | Dec 31, 2023 | |
| Journal of Chemical Physics | E-journal | Dec 31, 2023 | |
| Journal of Operator Theory | E-journal | Dec 31, 2023 | |
| Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma | E-journal | Jul 31, 2023 | Access remains to previously subscribed content via Ovid platform. |
| Journal of School Leadership | E-journal | Dec 31, 2023 | |
| Journal of Trauma & Acute Care Surgery | E-journal | Jul 31, 2023 | Access remains to previously subscribed content via Ovid platform. |
| JoVE Video Journal | Streaming video journal | Sep 14, 2023 | Access remains to JoVE Science Education Library, which was renewed. |
| JSTOR Expanded Access | E-journals, primary sources, images, research reports | Jun 30, 2023 | Provider ended complimentary access to 20 collections: Arts & Sciences VI, Arts & Sciences VIII-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Free access was extended to subscribers of JSTOR products during the pandemic. Access to Libraries' subscribed collections ends Dec 31, 2023 (see next line). |
| JSTOR Archive Collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, & Life Sciences | E-journals | Dec 31, 2023 | |
| Michigan Mathematical Journal | E-journal | Dec 31, 2023 | |
| Molecular & Cellular Biology | E-journal | Dec 31, 2023 | Previously part of American Society for Microbiology (ASM) journal package. Title transferred by ASM to Taylor & Francis, not picked up by UT Libraries. Remaining titles in ASM package renewed. |
| Neurology [with Neurology: Clinical Practice] | E-journal | Jul 31, 2023 | |
| Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry | E-journal | Dec 30, 2023 | |
| Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery | E-journal | Jul 31, 2023 | Access remains to previously subscribed content via Ovid platform. |
|
ProQuest Ebook Central Academic Complete |
E-books | Dec 1, 2023 | Access remains to about 700 titles purchased by UToledo Libraries or OhioLINK. |
| Spine | E-journal | Jul 31, 2023 | Access remains to previously subscribed content via Ovid platform. |
| Transparent Language Online | Language-learning resource | Jun 30, 2023 | Libraries Connect Ohio resource; 5-year contract (2018-2023) ended. |
| Transplantation | E-journal | Jul 31, 2023 | Access remains to previously subscribed content via Ovid platform. |
| University Press Scholarship Online: frontlist (new) titles | E-books | Dec 31, 2023 | OhioLINK resource; access remains to purchased titles published from 2015-2023. |
| TOTAL AMOUNT CANCELLED, FY23-24 | $233,210 |
(Last updated: 3/28/2024)
| RESOURCE NAME | RESOURCE TYPE | ACCESS BEGINS | NOTE |
| CultureGrams | Full-text database | Jul 1 2023 | Funded for 5 years (2023-2028) by Libraries Connect Ohio. |
| Elsevier open access publishing | Open access publishing privileges | Jan 1 2024 |
Add-on to existing OhioLINK contract with Elsevier, no additional cost to institutions, no cost to authors. Allows for open access publishing in hypbird titles currently in OhioLINK's current Elsevier journal package, excluding Cell Press and Lancet titles. New add-on agreement is for 4 years (Jan 1 2024-Dec 31 2027). |
| Springer Nature expanded package & open access publishing | E-journals & open access publishing privileges | Jan 1 2024 | Add-on to existing OhioLINK contract with Springer Nature, no additional cost to institutions, no cost to authors. Adds 700 journals to OhioLINK's current EJC package, including Palgrave, Adis, and Nature Academic titles (but not Nature portfolio journals such as Nature, titles starting with Nature, or Scientific American). Also allows for open access publishing in hybrid titles. New add-on agreement is for 3 years (Jan 1 2024-Dec 31 2026). |
| TOTAL AMOUNT ADDED, FY23/24 | $0 |
(Last updated: 12/19/20023