Online resources for searching for patent information
Last Updated: Feb 14, 2014
Long before online library catalogs, libraries kept index cards for each item in their collection. These cards were filed in drawers such as this that were then kept in cabinets for patrons and librarians to use.
- US Patent & Trademark Office Homepage
The USPTO mission is to ensure that the intellectual property system contributes to a strong global economy, encourages investment in innovation, and fosters entrepreneurial spirit.
- Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases
US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)
- How to View Patent Full-Page Images From USPTO
USPTO's full-page images are stored and delivered at full 300 dots per inch (d.p.i.) resolution in an image file format called "TIFF," using CCITT Group 4 compression. Unfortunately, due to the volume of the image data, available funding, and other technical considerations, USPTO cannot convert these images to a format more popular on the Web either permanently or by converting on-the-fly as they are delivered.
- USPTO - Patent Statistics Reports
Provides links to listings of Patent Technology Monitoring Team (PTMT) reports that are available for viewing.
- USPTO Patents Search Templates
This website provides access to templates describing search resources for the classified areas of science and technology found in the USPTO Manual of Classification. This version of the search template project presents over 1,200 search templates covering the more than 600 USPC classes and subclasses.
- USPTO Classification Homepage
The Office of Patent Classification maintains the U.S. Patent Classification system.
- USPTO - Related Links
Links to US government sites & international patent office sites.
- Derwent Innovations Index
Derwent Innovations Index provides access to more than 14,800,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources.
A digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions.
- Toledo-Lucas County Public Library Patent Collection
Since 1934, Main Library has been a United States Patent and Trademark Depository Library, housing a collection of patent information dating from 1849.
- Google Patents
Search over 7 million patents
- European Patent Office
A collection open to the world. The EPO holds one of the largest digital repositories of public knowledge in the world.
- Japan Patent Office
Official site of the Japan Patent Office.
- Japanese, Chinese or Korean Patent Help
This virtual help desk provides answers to the most frequently asked questions on patents and patent information in China, India, Japan and Korea. You can also find background information on filing trends and granting procedures and some guidance on common patent terminology of Asian patents.
- Indian Patent Information Retrieval System
Search for Indian patents
- DNA Patent Database interface
This database serves as a resource for members of the general public interested in fields like genomics, genetics and biotechnology. The DPD contains a collection of DNA-based patents and patent applications issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and makes the full-text versions of such patents available at no cost to the public.
The FreePatentsOnline search engine is one of the most powerful, fastest and easiest patent search engines on the web.
Patents.com provides one of the most comprehensive free patent search sites on the web.
Download U.S. patents (in PDF) and more!
- Cooperative Patent Classification
The Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) effort is a joint partnership between the USPTO and the EPO where the Offices have agreed to harmonize their existing classification systems (ECLA and USPC, respectively) and migrate towards a common classification scheme. This is a strategic decision by both offices and is seen as an important step towards advancing harmonization efforts currently being undertaken through the IP5’s Common Hybrid Classification (CHC) project.
The migration to CPC will be developed based in large part on the existing European Classification System (ECLA) and will be modified to ensure compliance with the International Patent Classification system (IPC) standards administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).
The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty applications in full text format on the day of publication. The information may be searched by entering keywords, names of applicants, international patent classification and many other search criteria in multiple languages.
How did you find out about UT Libraries' LibGuides?