LibGuides: Engineering: Chemical

Books

Chemical Process Equipment - Selection and Design by Couper, James R.; Penney, W. Roy; Fair, James R.; Walas, Stanley M.
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2010
Click on title to access

The most comprehensive and influential book on chemical process equipment ever written, fully revised and updated to bring the chemical engineer into the 21st century.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Eighth Edition by Don W. Green; Robert H. Perry
Call Number: TP151 .P45 2008 On Hold Shelf (Circ Desk)
Publication Date: 2007-11-13
Knovel Critical Tables (2nd Edition)
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2003
Click on title to access

This new 2nd Edition has been updated with over 40 new interactive tables which include new tables covering 503 Heat Capacity and Thermal Conductivity, 3,133 Reaction Thermodynamics and Equilibrium Constants, 854 Density and Compressibility, 13,332 Vaporization and Vapor Pressure, 185 Thermal Expansion, 377 Transport and Flow, and 1902 Electrical Properties data.
The Merck Index by Susan Budavari (Editor); Maryadele O'Neill (Editor); Ann Smith (Editor); Patricia Heckelman (Editor); Joanne Kinneary (Editor)
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) RS51 .M4 1989
Publication Date: 1996
Click on title to access
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) QD65 .H3 91st 2010-2011
Corrosion Resistance Tables by Philip A. Schweitzer
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TA418.74 .S38 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
4 Volumes
Hazardous chemicals desk reference by Richard J. Lewis
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) T55.3.H3 L49 2008
Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers - A Manual of Quick, Accurate Solutions to Everyday Process Engineering Problems by Edited by: Branan, Carl R.
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2005
Click on title to access
Handbook of food science, technology, and engineering by Y.H. Hui
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TP370.4 .H38 2006
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
Call Number: TP9 .K54 2004 CARLSON General (4th fl) (26 volumes)
The Properties of Gases and Liquids by Bruce E. Poling; John O'Connell; John M. Prausnitz
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2000
Click on title to access
Food processing handbook by edited by James G. Brennan
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TP370 .B815 2006
Chemical engineering: FE/EIT by Dilip K. Das
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TP168 .D368 2007
Introduction to chemicals from biomass by editors, James H. Clark with Fabien E.I. Deswarte
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TP248.B55 I68 2008
Cosmetic and toiletry formulations by Flick, Ernest W
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TP983 .F55 1989
ISBN: 0815513062
4 Volumes
Clean solvents : alternative media for chemical reactions and processing by Martin A. Abraham, editor, Luc Moens
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TP247.5 .C47 2002

Open Access Engineering Textbooks

Open Textbooks for Engineering
A listing of links to open acces textbooks organized by engineering discipline & curated by the Engineering Libraries Division of the American Society for Engineering Education.
Engineering Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Chemical Engineering Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Electrical Engineering Textooks - Open Textbook Library
Computer Science & Information Systems Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Engineering Books PDF
Download free books related to engineering and physics

Solvent Property Data

Solv-DB
The purpose of SOLV-DB is to help you find a wide variety of data on solvents quickly and easily. Including: Health and Safety considerations involved in choosing and using solvents, Chemical and Physical data affecting the suitability of a particular solvent for a wide range of potential applications, Regulatory responsibilities, including exposure and effluent limits, hazard classification status with respect to several key statutes, and selected reporting requirements, Environmental Fate data

Open Access Journals

Polymer Letters
The main scope of eXPRESS Polymer Letters is to provide a very fast first publication possibility related to the following topics: polymers; polymer composites; blends and alloys; nanomaterials; molecular engineering; tailor-made polymers; biodegradable and biocompatible polymers; smart materials; polymer gels and membranes; reinforcements and fillers; polymer processing technologies; rubbers and rubber technologies; interfaces, interphases and adhesion; thin layer technologies; material testing and properties; recycling; modeling and simulation. We are ready to publish any short original publication, new research result as well as review articles covering broader topics. The strict peer reviewing and editing process is very short, the publication may appear even within 3-4 months after submitting the manuscript.
ChemEngineering
ChemEngineering (ISSN 2305-7084) is an international peer-reviewed open access journal on the science and technology of chemical engineering published quarterly online by MDPI.

Databases

Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Index to content in about scientific and technical journals. Also covers conference proceedings, directories, and buyers' guides. Full text included for about 220 titles. Topics cover a wide variety of applied science specialties including: acoustics, aeronautics, atmospheric science, communication and information technology, engineering, mathematics, physics, and transportation.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Search the literature of chemistry and related fields by topic or by chemical name, formula, or structure. Reaction searching and many ways of analyzing and refining your results are included.
[Registration Required! See SciFinder LibGuide for details].

If you are prompted for a security error, you can safely bypass the warning and log in.

SciFinder Scholar LibGuide
How to perform searches in SciFinder Scholar and where to find help.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching and browsing about 700 handbooks and manuals on engineering, science and technology from various publishers. Library subscribes to the following collections: Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Electrical & Power Engineering, Electronics & Semiconductors, General Engineering & Project Administration, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Nanotechnology, Promotional Titles ( Non-subscribed titles may show up in search results. Full text available for subscribed titles only. ).
Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for engineering students, faculty, and practicing professionals. Contains over 600 full text books and a variety of online teaching and learning tools such as instructional videos; calculators; interactive tables, charts, and graphs; curriculum maps; and information organization and personalization tools. Also includes a global engineering news feed.
Morgan & Claypool's Synthesis This link opens in a new window
An information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. Contains 50- to 100-page, self-contained electronic documents, i.e., "lectures", which are organized into a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series. (We have access to collections 1-3).

SAE Mobility Rxiv
Provided by SAE International, the SAE MobilityRxiv® (pronounced “mobility archive”) is a free online archive and sharing service for English-language preprints in the mobility/transportation field, including ground vehicles, commercial vehicles, and aerospace and aviation.

Using Special Features in the Knovel Database

Knovel Tools Video

This video shows how to use the GET Search and Interactive Tools features of Knovel. For assistance with basic searching with Knovel contact a librarian.

Engineering Case Studies

ASEE Engineering Case Library
This is the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Engineering Case Library (ECL). The cases are accounts of real engineering work written for use in engineering education.The Engineering Case Program originated at Stanford University in 1964 with the support of the National Science Foundation. The library has been maintained by Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and Carleton University. It continues under the sponsorship of the Design in Engineering Education Division (DEED) of the ASEE.

Material Property Data

MatWeb
Data sheets for over 76,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.
ThermoLit: NIST Literature Report Builder for Thermochemical Property Measurements
This web application provides free and open access to literature information contained in the NIST SOURCE Data Archive and provides an easy-to-use tool for generation of a NIST Literature Report in PDF format, as required by the Journals. The tool is intended to aid researchers and reviewers in determining relevant literature sources for a given experimental measurement

Bulk Chemical Pricing

Finding prices for bulk chemicals is difficult. Many sources are intended for business use and not priced for academic users. Listed below are some free sources to try.

ChemAnalyst
Track real-time price movement of 300+ chemical and petrochemical products.
Energy Information Administration
A U.S. government website with pricing for oil, gasoline, and related petroleum prices.
Chemical Market - Chemicals Industry Research and Forecasts
Pricing for selected chemicals and industries
Plastics Today
Contains market and contract pricing on polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), and low-density polyethylene (LDPE).
Indicative Chemical Prices A-Z
This broad list of chemical prices is taken from the 28 August 2006 issue of Chemical Market Reporter (now rebranded and incorporated into ICIS Chemical Business). The list consists of static price indications from that issue. Products marked with an asterisk (*) have been updated to give indicative prices for 2008; those marked + were updated to give indicative prices for 2007.

Other sources of bulk chemical pricing

After trying the resources above, you might also try keyword searching business databases like Business Source Complete . Use the the name of the chemical and the word "price" in the search. The full-text of some of the chemical industry trade publications can be searched in LexisNexis Academic ["Sources" along left column -> "Browse Sources" -> Country (All Countries) -> Topics (Chemicals) -> Industry & Markets -> Industry Trade Press -> then select and search the full-text of one or more of the 30 publications listed (e.g., Chemical News & Intelligence, Chemical Week, ICIS, etc.).

Finding Technical Reports

Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975 as well as more recent reports.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®)
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .
science.gov
Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Conference Proceedings

Office of Scientific and Technical Information's (OSTI)
This distributed portal provides access to science and technology conference proceedings and conference papers from a number of authoritative sites (professional societies and national labs, largely) whose areas of interest in the physical sciences and technology intersect those of the Department of Energy.

Biomass/Biofuels

For sources of information & books on biomass & biofuels see the following LibGuide: Biofuels