LibGuides: Engineering: Mechanical

Books

Schaum's Outline of Engineering Mechanics: Statics, Seventh Edition by Merle C. Potter; E. W. Nelson; Charles L. Best; William G. McLean
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2021-01-01
[Click on title to access]
Schaum's Outline of Engineering Mechanics - Dynamics, Seventh Edition by Merle C. Potter; E. W. Nelson; Charles L. Best; W. G. McLean
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2021
[Click on title to access]
Schaum's Outline of Fluid Mechanics, Second Edition by Merle C. Potter; David C. Wiggert
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2020
[Click on title to access]
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition by Ali M. Sadegh; William M. Worek
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2017
[Click on title to access]
Design Engineer's Sourcebook by K. L. Richards
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
[Click on title to access]
Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations by Tyler Gregory Hicks
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2006
[Click on title to access]
2015 ASHRAE Handbook-HVAC Applications, I-P Edition by Ashrae (Arranged by)
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 9781936504930
Publication Date: 2015-06-03
[Click on title to access]
2014 ASHRAE Handbook - Refrigeration (SI Edition) by American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, Inc.
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2014
[Click on title to access]
FE Mechanical Review Manual by Michael R. Lindeburg
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TJ159 .L495 2014
ISBN: 9781591264415
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
World Renewable Energy Congress (28th : 2018 : London, England) by Ali Sayigh, editor
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2020
[Click on title to access]

Engineering Case Studies

ASEE Engineering Case Library
This is the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Engineering Case Library (ECL). The cases are accounts of real engineering work written for use in engineering education.The Engineering Case Program originated at Stanford University in 1964 with the support of the National Science Foundation. The library has been maintained by Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and Carleton University. It continues under the sponsorship of the Design in Engineering Education Division (DEED) of the ASEE.

Finding Technical Reports

Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975 as well as more recent reports.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®)
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .
science.gov
Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Open Access Engineering Textbooks

Open Textbooks for Engineering
A listing of links to open acces textbooks organized by engineering discipline & curated by the Engineering Libraries Division of the American Society for Engineering Education.
Engineering Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Chemical Engineering Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Electrical Engineering Textooks - Open Textbook Library
Computer Science & Information Systems Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Engineering Books PDF
Download free books related to engineering and physics

Databases

Shock & Vibration Digest
Index to scholarly publications covering topics related to shock and vibration. Subject areas include acoustics, noise, vibration technologies, seismology, experimental mechanics, engineering, wave motion, and wind.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Index to content in about scientific and technical journals. Also covers conference proceedings, directories, and buyers' guides. Full text included for about 220 titles. Topics cover a wide variety of applied science specialties including: acoustics, aeronautics, atmospheric science, communication and information technology, engineering, mathematics, physics, and transportation.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching and browsing about 700 handbooks and manuals on engineering, science and technology from various publishers. Library subscribes to the following collections: Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Electrical & Power Engineering, Electronics & Semiconductors, General Engineering & Project Administration, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Nanotechnology, Promotional Titles ( Non-subscribed titles may show up in search results. Full text available for subscribed titles only. ).
Morgan & Claypool's Synthesis This link opens in a new window
An information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. Contains 50- to 100-page, self-contained electronic documents, i.e., "lectures", which are organized into a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series. (We have access to collections 1-3).

JoVE: Video Journal
Peer-reviewed video methods journal of experimental techniques. Includes detailed text protocols to assist with scientific reproducibility and productivity. Categories include Engineering, Bioengineering, & Environment.
SAE Mobility Rxiv
Provided by SAE International, the SAE MobilityRxiv® (pronounced “mobility archive”) is a free online archive and sharing service for English-language preprints in the mobility/transportation field, including ground vehicles, commercial vehicles, and aerospace and aviation.

Using Special Features in the Knovel Database

Knovel Tools Video

This video shows how to use the GET Search and Interactive Tools features of Knovel. For assistance with basic searching with Knovel contact a librarian.

Conference Proceedings

Office of Scientific and Technical Information's (OSTI)
This distributed portal provides access to science and technology conference proceedings and conference papers from a number of authoritative sites (professional societies and national labs, largely) whose areas of interest in the physical sciences and technology intersect those of the Department of Energy.

Material Property Data

MatWeb
Data sheets for over 76,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.
ThermoLit: NIST Literature Report Builder for Thermochemical Property Measurements
This web application provides free and open access to literature information contained in the NIST SOURCE Data Archive and provides an easy-to-use tool for generation of a NIST Literature Report in PDF format, as required by the Journals. The tool is intended to aid researchers and reviewers in determining relevant literature sources for a given experimental measurement

Open Access Journals

Archive of Mechanical Engineering
For over fifty years journal has published high quality research results of wide interest in the fields of mechanical engineering, numerical and computational methods in engineering, as well as in the fields of mechanics, fluids, thermodynamics and machinery and machine elements.
The Open Mechanical Engineering Journal
The Open Mechanical Engineering Journal is an open access online journal, which publishes research articles, reviews, letters and guest edited single topic issues, in all areas of mechanical engineering.