LibGuides: Engineering: Civil

Books

Fundamentals of Engineering FE Civil All-In-One Exam Guide by Indranil Goswami
Call Number: Electronic Resource

Publication Date: 2018

[Click on title to access]
Schaum's Outline of Fluid Mechanics, Second Edition by Merle C. Potter; David C. Wiggert
Call Number: Electronic Resource

Publication Date: 2020

[Click on title to access]
Civil Engineering PE Practice Exams: Breadth and Depth, Second Edition by Indranil Goswami
Call Number: Electronic Resource

Publication Date: 2021-08-13

[Click on title to access]
Structural Engineering SE All-In-One Exam Guide: Breadth and Depth, Second Edition by Dave K. Adams
Call Number: Electronic Resource

Publication Date: 2022-09-16

[Click on title to access]
Ethics in Civil and Structural Engineering: Professional Responsibility and Standard of Care by Dave K. Adams
Call Number: Electronic Resource

Publication Date: 2022

[Click on title to access]
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, Third Edition by Tyler G. Hicks
Call Number: Electronic Resource

Publication Date: 2016-07-15

[Click on title to access]
Design of Municipal Wastewater Treatment Plants by Water Environment Federation
Call Number: Electronic Resource

Publication Date: 2009

[Click on title to access]
Internal Corrosion Control in Water Distribution Systems,M58 by Christopher P. Hill; Abigail F. Cantor
Call Number: Electronic Resource

Publication Date: 2011-06-01

[Click on title to access]
FE Civil Review Manual by PE, Michael R Lindeburg
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TA159 .L5726 2014

Publication Date: 2014-02-25
Geoenvironmental engineering : site remediation, waste containment, and emerging waste management technologies by Hari D. Sharma, Krishna R. Reddy
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TD171.9 .S53 2004
Nanotechnology Applications for Clean Water by Nora Savage; Jeremiah S. Duncan; Anita Street; Richard C. Sustich; Mamadou Diallo
Call Number: Electronic Resource

Publication Date: 2008-12-30

[Click on title to access]

Databases

Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Index to content in about scientific and technical journals. Also covers conference proceedings, directories, and buyers' guides. Full text included for about 220 titles. Topics cover a wide variety of applied science specialties including: acoustics, aeronautics, atmospheric science, communication and information technology, engineering, mathematics, physics, and transportation.

Web of Science Core Collection
Portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Shock & Vibration Digest
Index to scholarly publications covering topics related to shock and vibration. Subject areas include acoustics, noise, vibration technologies, seismology, experimental mechanics, engineering, wave motion, and wind.

SciFinder-n
Search the literature of chemistry and related fields by topic or by chemical name, formula, or structure. Reaction searching and many ways of analyzing and refining your results are included.

[Registration Required! See SciFinder LibGuide for details].

If you are prompted for a security error, you can safely bypass the warning and log in.
Knovel
Platform for cross-searching and browsing about 700 handbooks and manuals on engineering, science and technology from various publishers. Library subscribes to the following collections: Biochemistry Biology & Biotechnology, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Electrical & Power Engineering, Electronics & Semiconductors, General Engineering & Project Administration, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Promotional Titles ( Non-subscribed titles may show up in search results. Full text available for subscribed titles only. ).

SciTech Connect:
Index to research literature in science, technology, engineering and energy-related disciplines covering the 1940s to the present. Contains over 2.5 million citations to journal articles, technical reports, conference papers, books, multimedia, dissertations, and patents as well as full text for over 323,000 reports sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy. Disciplines covered include biology, chemistry, energy use and conservation, environmental sciences, fission and nuclear technologies, fossil fuels, geosciences, materials, mathematics and computing, national defense, physics, and power generation and distribution. Consolidation of two separate databases, Energy Citations Database and Information BridgeCoverage.

Morgan & Claypool's Synthesis
An information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. Contains 50- to 100-page, self-contained electronic documents, i.e., "lectures", which are organized into a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series. UToledo users have access to books in collections 1, 2 and 3 (published between 2005 and 2020).

Collection was previously published by Morgan & Claypool as "Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science" and moved to Springer Nature in 2022.

JoVE: Video Journal
Peer-reviewed video methods journal of experimental techniques. Includes detailed text protocols to assist with scientific reproducibility and productivity. Categories include Engineering, Bioengineering, & Environment.

Using Special Features in the Knovel Database

Knovel Tools Video

This video shows how to use the GET Search and Interactive Tools features of Knovel. For assistance with basic searching with Knovel contact a librarian.

FE and PE Exams

FE and PE Exam Resources LibGuide

Reference Books

Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD)
11th Edition of the MUTCD, December 2023

[Electronic Resource]

2018 International Building Code by International Code Council
Publication Date: updated Nov 2021

[Electronic Resource]
Ohio Building Code
[Electronic Resource]
The civil engineering handbook by W.F. Chen
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TA151 .C57 1995
Standard handbook of environmental engineering by Robert A. Corbitt
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TD145 .S72 1999

ISBN: 0070131600
Structural engineering handbook by Edwin H. Gaylord, Jr., Charles N. Gaylord, James E. Stallmeyer
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TA635 .S77 1997

Construction Cost Estimating

Top Free Construction Estimating Software
A list of free Construction Estimating Software. Products featured on this list are the ones that offer a free trial version. As with most free versions, there are limitations, typically time or features.

Conference Proceedings

Office of Scientific and Technical Information's (OSTI)
This distributed portal provides access to science and technology conference proceedings and conference papers from a number of authoritative sites (professional societies and national labs, largely) whose areas of interest in the physical sciences and technology intersect those of the Department of Energy.

Finding Technical Reports

Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975 as well as more recent reports.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®)
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .
science.gov
Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Tacoma Narrows Bridge Collapse

Material Property Data

MatWeb
Data sheets for over 76,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.
ThermoLit: NIST Literature Report Builder for Thermochemical Property Measurements
This web application provides free and open access to literature information contained in the NIST SOURCE Data Archive and provides an easy-to-use tool for generation of a NIST Literature Report in PDF format, as required by the Journals. The tool is intended to aid researchers and reviewers in determining relevant literature sources for a given experimental measurement

Open Access Engineering Textbooks

Open Textbooks for Engineering
A listing of links to open acces textbooks organized by engineering discipline & curated by the Engineering Libraries Division of the American Society for Engineering Education.
Engineering Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Chemical Engineering Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Electrical Engineering Textooks - Open Textbook Library
Computer Science & Information Systems Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Engineering Books PDF
Download free books related to engineering and physics

Open Access Journals

Advances in Civil Engineering
Advances in Civil Engineering is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of civil engineering.
Civil Engineering Dimension
The Civil Engineering Dimension (CED) was first accredited by the Directorate General of Higher Education of Indonesia in 2000, with its decree No. 395/DIKTI/Kep/2000. Since then, CED has been honored with the accreditation status without any interruption.
Constructii - Journal of Civil Engineering
With a history of over 60 years of prestigious scientific publishing, the journal “Constructii” traces over time the progress of knowledge in the field of civil engineering in Romania.