Books
Bioengineering in cell and tissue research - editors, Gerhard M. Artmann, Shu Chien
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Reproductive biomechanics - edited by David Elad and Roger C. Young
Call Number: Electronic Resource
An introduction to mathematics of emerging biomedical imaging - Habib Ammari
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Spine technology handbook - Steven M. Kurtz, Avram Allan Edidin
Call Number: MCMASTER Engineering RD768 .K88 2006
Orthopaedic surgery review : questions and answers - Mark J. Sokolowski
Call Number: MCMASTER Engineering RD732.6 .O77 2009
Finding Technical Reports
- Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. - National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. - Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®)
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today . - science.gov
Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results. - WorldWideScience.org
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
MedLine Plus
MedlinePlus is a product of the National Library of Medicine, but should not be confused with PubMed or MEDLINE.
Search for a topic and you will find basic information from the National Library of Medicine website, and pre-approved links to external websites, including pages from the National Institutes of Health and trusted health care partners such as other government websites and non-profit research organizations. In addition to providing a clearinghouse for evaluated health information, it also has a medical dictionary, encyclopedia, and drug reference section. A single keyword search will bring up results in all of these areas.
Tutorials
Here are some Podcasts and other tutorials to help you use library resources.
- Compendex Podcast
Listen to this Podcast on searching Compendex while following along on your computer.
Knovel University Challenge
UT Engineering Portal
Here is a page that provides links to many resources to assist you in locating engineering informations and in doing general academic research.
Reference Books
Wiley encyclopedia of biomedical engineering - Metin Akay
Call Number: MCMASTER Engineering R856.A3 .W55 2006
The biomedical engineering handbook - Joseph D. Bronzino
Call Number: MCMASTER Engineering R856.15 .B56 2000
Standard handbook of biomedical engineering and design - Myer Kutz
Call Number: MCMASTER Engineering R 856.15 .S73 2003
Encyclopedia of medical devices and instrumentation - edited by John G. Webster
Call Number: MULFORD Reference (4th fl) W13 E555 2006
PubMed
For searching the medical literature
(reviewed journal articles), use PubMed, available freely on
the web*.
Some quick tips on searching PubMed are found below, but more detailed instructions are available, prepared by our Health Science librarians:
- Using PubMed - [PDF]
- PubMed Step-by-Step Search Guide [PDF]
- Accessing Online Articles through PubMed [PDF]
- PubMed FAQs - from NLM
When you search in PubMed, your search terms will automatically be translated by PubMed into a broad search on your topic, using the 'correct' medical terms (called Medical Subject Headings, or MeSH terms) if possible. Click on the 'Details' tab to see how your search was interpreted.
Click on the 'Limits' tab to further refine your search by age, gender, broad topic, language of publication, or publication type. For example, the 'Systematic Reviews' subset will retrieve citations identified as systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, guidelines, and citations to articles from journals specializing in review studies of value to clinicians. You can see more information about an article by clicking on the title, or changing your Display type from Summary to Abstract or Abstract Plus.
To locate the full text of an article, you can click on the
button to see if you have access to an electronic copy or to see if we have the print journal in our collection.
*While you can get to the general PubMed site at http://www.pubmed.gov/, using http://tinyurl.com/utpubmed/ will get you to a version customized for University of Toledo researchers. The Find It! link can tell you if the University of Toledo subscribes to a journal or has access to an electronic version of the article.
Other Databases
- EI Engineering Village - Compendex
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature. - ISI Web of Science General science database
- Knovel
Knovel provides engineers and scientists with access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface.
Using Special Features in the Knovel Database
This video shows how to use the GET Search and Interactive Tools features of Knovel. For assistance with basic searching with Knovel contact a librarian.
Knovel Search
This widget only works on the University of Toledo campus. To search Knovel off-campus use this link: Knovel
ISI Citation Indexes Search
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait