Bibliography -- generally, a bibliography is a free-standing list of references, i.e., it is not associated with a paper. Sometimes bibliographies are annotated, where each reference is accompanied with information about the reference. You can create a bibliography using EndNote: make sure your active style is correct, then select the references to include in the bib. From the References menu >> Copy Formatted References. Go to Word and paste the bibliography into the document.
Cite While You Write (CWYW) -- the integration of EndNote with Word that allows you to cite and format references in Word using EndNote
Field -- components of a reference, such as author, title, year, and journal title; at most, there can be 52 fields per reference Import filter – a file that tells EndNote how to import references from online databases and catalogs Output style – a file that tells EndNote how to format citations; styles are available for individual journals or for general styles (Vancouver, APA, AMA, NLM, Chicago, etc.)
Import Filter -- also referred to as a filter; this is a set of instructions that helps EndNote import references from databases correctly. For example, filters tell EndNote which information goes in the author field, the title field, etc. EndNote has advanced to the point that we rarely need to import references manually, so there is little need to select an import filter.
Library -- a collection of references ; there is no limit to the number of references you can create in an EndNote library. It is recommended that the number not exceed 100,000 to maintain efficient performance managing the database. Libraries created with the Windows version of EN can be used by the Mac version and vice versa.
Output style -- also referred to as a style; this is a set of instructions that tells EndNote how to format the data in an EndNote record so that the formatted reference is correct. EndNote includes styles for standard styles such as APA and AMA, as well as journal-specific styles. An output style has instructions for each reference type. Select the desired style in EndNote (Tools menu >> Output Styles...) and in Word (EndNote menu, then select desired style from the dropdown menu).
Reference -- a bibliographic citation citation which usually includes author, title, source, abstract and/or related information
Reference list -- a list of references that are associated with a paper or manuscript. The order of references in a reference list is determined by the reference format (style). For APA, the reference list is alphabetically by author; for AMA, the list is in the order the references are cited in the paper.
Reference type -- the material type of a record in EndNote (journal article, book, book section, conference proceedings, web page, etc.). The reference type must be correct for a formatted reference to be correct. Without it, EndNote won't follow the right set of instructions.
Term list -- a list of terms associated with a given field (like author or journal title) that assists with automated manual data entry; the journals term list also allows for conversion of full journal titles to abbreviated journal titles and vice versa, depending what your output style requires.
Traveling library -- A library created from references in an existing Word document, which can be transferred (imported) to an existing or new EndNote library. The traveling library does not include Notes, Abstracts, or Figures.