Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Accessing Full-Text Articles

This LibGuide connects you to the information resources you need to be successful in nursing research and evidence-based practice

Full-Text Articles

When you conduct a search for articles on a topic in a database, you will retrieve a list of search results with basic information about those articles, including the author(s), article title, publication year, journal title, volume/issue number, and page numbers. An abstract (a brief summary of the article) may also be provided.

To access an article in its entire full length form - or full-text - there are a variety of options as outlined below. 

Having trouble locating the full-text of articles? Please contact your Nursing Librarian Jodi Jameson for assistance (jodi.jameson@utoledo.edu, 419.383.5152). 

Option 1: Connect to the Full-Text within your Database Search Results

When viewing your article results in research databases, such as CINAHL or PubMed, you may see different links to pursue access to the full-text, including the yellow FindIt@UT link. 

The  link will always be an option in any of your library database search results. After clicking FindIt! you will see a screen with links to access the full-text if available from the UToledo Libraries, for example: 

Option 2: Search by Article Title

Perhaps you located an article not from a database search, but from reviewing a reference list or bibliography in another source (such as a book, another journal article, or website). Or, perhaps a colleague or fellow student mentioned an interesting article to you, and you want to locate it to read. 

To look up the full-text of that article, you can search throughout the library's entire collection by entering the article title in the UTMOST Search box on the library's website. 

These steps are outlined (with example screenshots) in the downloadable PDF document below:

Option 3: Search by Journal Title

An additional option is to access the journal that an article was published in, and then search/browse for the specific article you are looking for from within the journal itself. 

These steps are outlined (with example screenshots) in the downloadable PDF document below:

Request Unavailable Articles Using Interlibrary Loan

If you have attempted to access the full-text of an article, but it is unavailable from the UToledo Libraries, you may submit a request using Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)

Quick Steps for Using ILLiad

  1. To begin using ILLiad, create an account
  2. Log-in to your ILLiad account to submit a request
  3. After logging in, click on Place a Request and choose Article
  4. Complete the Article Request Form and click Submit Request 

*You may also log-in to ILLiad directly from FindIt@UT to request a specific article:

We will locate the article from another library that has it, and deliver it to you electronically in PDF format at no cost to you. 

When your article has arrived, you will receive an e-mail notification. The article will be uploaded as a PDF file in your ILLIad account. Log-in to your ILLIad account to retrieve it under Electronically Received Articles. PDFs will stay posted to your account for 30 days, so once you receive your article be sure to download it and save it. 

For more information, see the ILLiad LibGuide